Skip Navigation Links
      RS 46:2265     


§2265. Advisory council creation; membership; terms; quorum; compensation

            A. There is hereby created an advisory council for the program of early identification of deaf or hard of hearing infants. The council shall consist of fourteen members as follows:

            (1) An otolaryngologist or otologist.

            (2) An audiologist with extensive experience in evaluating infants.

            (3) A neonatologist.

            (4) A pediatrician.

            (5) A deaf person.

            (6) A hospital administrator.

            (7) A speech and language pathologist.

            (8) A school teacher or administrator certified in education of the deaf.

            (9) A parent who chose the oral method for his deaf or hard of hearing child.

            (10) A parent of a deaf or hard of hearing child utilizing total communication.

            (11) A representative of the state Department of Education designated by the superintendent of education.

            (12) A representative of the office designated by the assistant secretary of the office.

            (13) A representative from the Louisiana Commission for the Deaf.

            (14) A representative from the Louisiana Association of the Deaf.

            B. Members of the council in accordance with Paragraphs (A)(1) through (10), (13), and (14) shall be appointed by the governor, subject to Senate confirmation. Other members are not subject to Senate confirmation.

            C. Members of the council representing offices and departments of state government shall serve four-year terms concurrent with that of the governor. Other members shall serve three-year terms, except that in making the initial appointments, four members shall be appointed for a one-year term, four shall be appointed for two-year terms, and four shall be appointed for three-year terms. No member may serve more than two consecutive terms.

            D. Each member shall serve without compensation.

            E. A majority of the members of the council shall constitute a quorum for the transaction of all business.

            F. The members of the council shall elect from their membership a chairman and a vice chairman.

            Acts 1992, No. 417, §1; Acts 2017, No. 146, §11.

If you experience any technical difficulties navigating this website, click here to contact the webmaster.
P.O. Box 94062 (900 North Third Street) Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70804-9062