Skip Navigation Links
      RS 49:1112     


§1112. Commission established; purposes; membership; officers

            A. The Volunteer Louisiana Commission, hereinafter referred to in this Chapter as "commission", is hereby established in the executive branch of state government in the office of the lieutenant governor. The commission is hereby declared to be a body corporate and public, exercising public and essential governmental functions. The domicile of the commission shall be in the city of Baton Rouge. The purpose of the commission shall be to:

            (1) Encourage community service as a means of community and state problem solving.

            (2) Promote and support citizen involvement in government and private programs throughout this state.

            (3) Develop a long term, comprehensive vision and plan for action for community service initiatives in this state.

            (4) Act as the state's policymaking body for the Corporation for National and Community Service.

            (5) Serve as the state's liaison to other national and state organizations which support its mission.

            B.(1) The commission shall consist of no fewer than fifteen and no more than twenty-five voting members. Not more than fifty percent of the commission membership plus one shall be from the same political party. To the maximum extent practicable, it shall be balanced according to race, ethnicity, age, disability, and gender characteristics.

            (2)(a) Subject to confirmation by the Senate, the members serving on June 27, 1995, on the Volunteer Louisiana Commission created by Executive Order EWE 93-48 shall complete the terms designated thereunder.

            (b) Successor members of the commission shall be appointed by the governor, in collaboration with the lieutenant governor, on a bipartisan basis for three-year terms, subject to confirmation by the Senate.

            (c) Members may serve no more than two consecutive terms.

            (3) The commission shall include:

            (a) An individual with expertise in the educational, training, and developmental needs of youth, particularly disadvantaged youth.

            (b) An individual with expertise in promoting the involvement of older adults in service and volunteerism.

            (c) A representative of community-based agencies or of community-based organizations within this state.

            (d) The superintendent of the Louisiana Department of Education, or his designee.

            (e) A representative of local governments in this state.

            (f) A representative of local labor organizations in this state.

            (g) A representative of business.

            (h) An individual between the ages of sixteen and twenty-five who is a participant or supervisor in a service program.

            (i) A representative of a national service program.

            (j) A representative of the Corporation for National and Community Service as an ex officio nonvoting member.

            (k) The lieutenant governor as an ex officio nonvoting member. The lieutenant governor may designate a person to serve as a member of the commission in his absence. Such designee shall be submitted to the Senate for confirmation.

            (l) The governor as an ex officio nonvoting member.

            (4) The commission may include the following:

            (a) Members selected from among local educators.

            (b) Members selected from among experts in the delivery of human, educational, environmental, or public safety services to communities and persons.

            (c) Representatives of Native American tribes.

            (d) Members selected from among out-of-school youth or other at-risk youth.

            (e) Representatives of entities that receive assistance under the Domestic Volunteer Service Act of 1973.

            (f) As ex officio nonvoting members, representatives selected from among officers and employees of state agencies operating community service, youth service, education, social service, senior service, and job training programs.

            C. Not more than twenty-five percent of the commission members may be employees of state government, though additional state agency representatives may sit on the commission as nonvoting, ex officio members pursuant to Subparagraph (B)(4)(f) of this Section.

            D. A vacancy among the members shall be filled by the governor, in collaboration with the lieutenant governor, to serve the remainder of the term, subject to confirmation by the Senate.

            E. The officers of the commission shall be chair, vice chair, secretary, and treasurer. All officers shall be elected by the voting members of the commission from among the voting membership. Officers shall serve for a term of one year. Any vacancy in an office shall be filled with an election by the voting members of the commission for the remainder of the unexpired term.

            F.(1) The chair of the commission shall:

            (a) Preside at commission meetings.

            (b) Appoint committee chairs.

            (c) Assist chairs in the planning of committee activities.

            (d) Supervise chairs as to the management of committee plans.

            (e) Authorize and execute the wishes of the commission.

            (f) Call special meetings of the commission.

            (g) Be an ex officio member of each committee.

            (2) The vice chair shall:

            (a) Assist the chair.

            (b) In the absence of the chair, perform the duties of the chair.

            (c) Accept special assignments from the chair.

            (d) Perform other duties as delegated by the commission.

            (3) The secretary shall:

            (a) Be responsible for the minutes of the meetings of the commission and the executive committee.

            (b) Keep an updated list of names, addresses, and telephone numbers of all commission and standing committee members.

            (c) Keep a record of attendance at meetings.

            (4) The treasurer shall:

            (a) Oversee the preparation of funding applications.

            (b) Report on the finances to the commission at each meeting.

            G. No per diem allowance shall be paid to members of the commission.

            H. Commission members and staff may receive necessary travel and subsistence expenses as permitted state employees.

            Acts 1995, No. 742, §2, eff. June 27, 1995; Acts 2012, No. 553, §3; Acts 2020, No. 257, §3.

If you experience any technical difficulties navigating this website, click here to contact the webmaster.
P.O. Box 94062 (900 North Third Street) Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70804-9062