Skip Navigation Links
      RS 49:1222     


§1222. Latino Commission; creation; domicile; membership

            A. The Latino Commission, hereafter referred to in this Chapter as the "commission", is hereby established in the executive branch of state government in the office of the governor. The commission is hereby declared to be a body corporate and public, exercising public and essential governmental functions. The domicile of the commission shall be in the city of New Orleans.

            B. The commission shall be comprised of members as provided in this Subsection:

            (1) The president of the Senate shall appoint two members.

            (2) The speaker of the House of Representatives shall appoint two members.

            (3) The governor shall appoint one member.

            (4) The Louisiana Municipal Association shall appoint one member.

            (5) The Police Jury Association of Louisiana shall appoint one member.

            (6) Each of the following or his designee shall be a member:

            (a) The secretary of the Louisiana Workforce Commission.

            (b) The secretary of the Department of Children and Family Services.

            (c) The secretary of the Louisiana Department of Heath.

            (7) Puentes New Orleans shall appoint one member.

            (8) The following shall each appoint one member:

            (a) Catholic Charities of New Orleans.

            (b) The Hispanic Chamber of Commerce of Louisiana.

            (c) The Labor Council for Latin American Advancement.

            (d) The Latin American Medical Association.

            (e) Casa Argentina of New Orleans.

            (f) The publisher of "El Tiempo New Orleans".

            (g) The general manager of KGLA TV.

            (h) The Loyola School of Law Workplace Justice Project.

            (i) The Hispanic Apostolate of Shreveport.

            (j) The Hispanic Lawyers Association.

            (k) WFNO La Fabulosa 830-AM Radio.

            (l) The Latin American Civic Association of Louisiana.

            (m) The Hispanic Lawyers Association of Louisiana, Inc.

            (n) The Spanish American Business Association.

            (o) Asociacion Nicaraguense de Luisiana.

            (p) Unidad Hispanoamericana.

            (q) The Louisiana Housing Corporation.

            (r) The Louisiana AFL-CIO.

            C. Members of the commission shall be residents of this state. Each member shall be a member of a registered business organization in this state and actively engaging in business in this state as of the date of appointment.

            D. A majority of the members shall constitute a quorum.

            E. The commission shall annually elect a chairman and a vice chairman and other officers as it deems appropriate from among its members. The commission may appoint subcommittees in accordance with its bylaws.

            F. The commission shall hold regular meetings at least quarterly and shall hold special meetings upon the call of the chairman or any three members.

            G. Appointed members shall serve at the pleasure of the appointing authority.

            H. The governor shall provide staff and administrative support to the commission.

            Acts 2009, No. 141, §1, eff. June 25, 2009; Acts 2010, No. 599, §1; Acts 2010, No. 877, §3, eff. July 1, 2010; Acts 2011, No. 408, §5(B), eff. July 5, 2011.

If you experience any technical difficulties navigating this website, click here to contact the webmaster.
P.O. Box 94062 (900 North Third Street) Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70804-9062