Skip Navigation Links
      RS 25:1223     


§1223.  Membership; officers

A.(1)  The commission shall be comprised of fourteen members.  The governing authority of each parish identified in R.S. 25:1222(A) as having territory within the trace area shall appoint one member.

(2)  Upon request by certified letter from the secretary of the Department of Culture, Recreation and Tourism, each governing authority shall make its appointment and submit the name and address of its appointee to the secretary by certified letter.

(3)  In addition to the membership provided for in Paragraphs (1) and (2) of this Subsection, upon designation by the federal government of the Atchafalaya area as a national heritage area, the secretary of the U.S. Department of the Interior may appoint a representative of the National Park Service to serve as a nonvoting member of the commission.

B.  Members of the commission shall receive no pay for their service on the commission.  However, while away from their homes or regular places of business in the performance of services for the commission other than meetings of the commission, members of the commission may receive reimbursement for travel expenses in accordance with rules promulgated by the division of administration.

C.  Terms of commissioners shall be three years and they may be reappointed.  Any member appointed to fill a vacancy in an unexpired term shall be appointed only for the remainder of such term.  Any member of the commission may serve after the expiration of his term until his successor is appointed and qualified.  Any appointing authority may remove its appointed member who misses more than three consecutive meetings.

D.  The members of the commission shall elect from among themselves a chair and other officers as they deem necessary.

E.  The commission shall meet not less than quarterly.  The commission may hold such other meetings as it deems necessary.  Meetings may be called by the chairman or by a majority of the members.

F.  The commission shall adopt bylaws to govern its affairs and activities.

Acts 1997, No. 1440, §1, eff. July 1, 1998; Acts 1999, No. 367, §1; Acts 2002, 1st Ex. Sess., No. 112, §1, eff. Jan. 1, 2003; Acts 2003, No. 439, §1, eff. June 20, 2003; Acts 2006, No. 713, §1, eff. July 1, 2006.

NOTE:  SEE ACTS 1997, NO. 1440, §3.

If you experience any technical difficulties navigating this website, click here to contact the webmaster.
P.O. Box 94062 (900 North Third Street) Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70804-9062