Skip Navigation Links
      RS 3:4272     


§4272.  Members; appointment; qualifications; terms of office

A.  The commission shall consist of seven members, five of whom shall be appointed by the governor, subject to confirmation by the Senate, and two of whom shall serve ex officio--namely, the head of the department of forestry at Louisiana State University and Agricultural and Mechanical College and the secretary of the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries.

B.  Two of the members shall be owners or executive managers of interests owning and operating timberlands; one shall be the owner of farm lands interested in reforestation; one shall be a pulp and paper mill owner or executive manager; and the fifth shall be the owner or executive manager of interests manufacturing or treating poles, piling, posts, crossties, or veneer.

C.  The members first appointed serve for terms of one, two, three, four, and five years, the terms to be designated by the governor.  The successors of each shall be appointed for a term of five years.

Amended by Acts 1975, No. 81, §1; Acts 1981, No. 838, §1.

If you experience any technical difficulties navigating this website, click here to contact the webmaster.
P.O. Box 94062 (900 North Third Street) Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70804-9062