Skip Navigation Links
      RS 34:1702     


§1702.  Board of commissioners, members; vacancy; compensation; officers, agents and employees

A.  The governing authority of the district is hereby declared to be a board of commissioners consisting of five members who shall be citizens of the United States and qualified voters and taxpayers within the limits of the district during their term of office.  The governor shall appoint the five members upon the recommendation of a majority of the legislative delegation from St. Bernard Parish.  Each such member shall serve for a term of five years.  Each appointment by the governor shall be submitted to the Senate for confirmation.

B.  Any vacancy in any original term shall be filled in the same manner as the appointment was originally made, for the unexpired term.  Any vacancy occurring due to expiration of the original term shall be filled in the same manner as above provided, for the term of five years.

C.  The commissioners shall serve without compensation and shall have the power to organize and reorganize legal, executive, engineering, clerical, and other departments and forces of the board and to fix the duties, powers, and compensation of all officers, agents, and employees under the board.

Added by Acts 1960, No. 228, §1.  Amended by Acts 1966, No. 446, §1; Acts 1970, No. 416, §1; Acts 1975, No. 789, §5; Acts 1980, No. 500, §1, eff. Aug. 1, 1980; Acts 2003, No. 774, §9.

If you experience any technical difficulties navigating this website, click here to contact the webmaster.
P.O. Box 94062 (900 North Third Street) Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70804-9062