Skip Navigation Links
      RS 36:761     



§761.  Department of the Treasury; creation; composition; purposes and functions

A.  The Department of the Treasury is created and shall be a body corporate with the power to sue and be sued.  The domicile of the department shall be in Baton Rouge.  

B.  The Department of the Treasury, through its offices and officers, shall be responsible for performing the functions of the state treasurer and the agencies transferred into this department in accordance with the provisions of this Title.  

C.(1)  The Department of the Treasury shall be composed of the executive office of the state treasurer, the office of management and finance, the office of the State Bond Commission, the office of state depository control and investment, and such other offices as shall be created by law.

(2)  Whenever the state treasurer determines that the administration of the functions of the department may be more efficiently performed by eliminating, merging, or consolidating existing offices or establishing new offices, he shall present a plan therefor to the legislature for its approval by statute.  

Added by Acts 1977, No. 83, §1, eff. June 22, 1977; Acts 1987, No. 736, §1.  

{{NOTE:  SEE ACTS 1987, NO. 736, §3.}}

If you experience any technical difficulties navigating this website, click here to contact the webmaster.
P.O. Box 94062 (900 North Third Street) Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70804-9062