Skip Navigation Links
      RS 37:832     


§832. Louisiana State Board of Embalmers and Funeral Directors; appointments; terms of office

            A.(1) There is created within the Louisiana Department of Health the Louisiana State Board of Embalmers and Funeral Directors that shall be subject to the provisions of R.S. 36:803.

            (2) The board shall consist of nine members to be appointed by the governor, subject to Senate confirmation, as further provided in Subsection B of this Section. All members of the board shall serve at the pleasure of the governor for terms of four years. The governor shall ensure that his appointments demonstrate race, gender, ethnic, and geographical diversity.

            B.(1) The board shall include four licensed embalmers and four licensed funeral directors, all of whom shall have been residents of the state of Louisiana for at least five years and all of whom shall have had experience in their respective professions for at least five years. Eight members shall be appointed as follows:

            (a) Two members shall be residents of District A, comprised of the parishes of Orleans, Jefferson, St. Bernard, and Plaquemines.

            (b) Two members shall be residents of District B, comprised of the parishes of Vernon, Rapides, Avoyelles, Concordia, Catahoula, LaSalle, Grant, Natchitoches, Sabine, DeSoto, Red River, Winn, Caldwell, Franklin, Tensas, Madison, Richland, Ouachita, Jackson, Bienville, Bossier, Caddo, Webster, Claiborne, Lincoln, Union, Morehouse, West Carroll, and East Carroll.

            (c) Two members shall be residents of District C, comprised of the parishes of Beauregard, Allen, Evangeline, St. Landry, St. Martin, Iberia, St. Mary, Lafayette, Acadia, Calcasieu, Jefferson Davis, Cameron, and Vermilion.

            (d) Two members shall be residents of District D, comprised of the parishes of Pointe Coupee, West Feliciana, East Feliciana, St. Helena, Tangipahoa, Washington, St. Tammany, St. John the Baptist, St. Charles, Lafourche, Terrebonne, Assumption, Iberville, West Baton Rouge, East Baton Rouge, Livingston, Ascension, and St. James.

            (2)(a) The board shall also include one consumer member who shall be selected from the state at large and appointed by the governor. The consumer member of the board shall possess all of the following qualifications:

            (i) Is a citizen of the United States and has been a resident of Louisiana for at least one year immediately prior to appointment.

            (ii) Has attained the age of majority.

            (iii) Has never been licensed by any of the licensing boards identified in R.S. 36:259(A), nor shall he have a spouse who has ever been licensed by a board identified in R.S. 36:259(A).

            (iv) Has never been convicted of a felony.

            (v) Does not have and has never had a material financial interest in the healthcare profession.

            (b) The consumer member shall be a full voting member of the board, except that the consumer member shall not participate in the grading of individual examinations.

            C. Each appointment shall be submitted to the Senate for confirmation. Members of the board may serve two consecutive four-year terms. However, at least one year shall elapse between the expiration of a member's second consecutive term and his appointment to a subsequent term. When the governor removes a member and replaces him with another person, the replacement shall serve for the remainder of the removed member's term. Such service shall constitute a four-year term for purposes of this Section.

            Acts 1963, No. 12, §1; Acts 1966, No. 19, §1, eff. June 15, 1966 at 10:30 A.M.; Acts 1977, No. 684, §2. Acts 1984, No. 941, §1, eff. July 20, 1984; Acts 1986, No. 782, §1, eff. noon July 11, 1988; Acts 1988, No. 275, §§1, 2, eff. July 1, 1988; Acts 1990, No. 163, §1; Acts 2008, No. 811, §1; Acts 2018, No. 515, §2.

NOTE: See Acts 1984, No. 941, §2.

NOTE: See Acts 1986, No. 782, §2.

NOTE: See Acts 1988, No. 275, §3.

NOTE: See Acts 1990, No. 163, §2.

If you experience any technical difficulties navigating this website, click here to contact the webmaster.
P.O. Box 94062 (900 North Third Street) Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70804-9062