Skip Navigation Links
      RS 38:3303     


§3303.  Appointment and term of commissioners

A.  The board of commissioners shall be composed of thirteen members.  

B.  One member shall be appointed by the governor from the district at large.  

C.  The remaining twelve members shall be appointed by the governor as follows:

(1)  Two qualified electors residing in that portion of each parish within the district from nominations submitted by the members of the legislature serving that portion of each parish within the district.  

(2)  In the event any present member of the commission shall cease to be a member thereof for any reason prior to the expiration of his term, his successor shall be appointed from the same parish as the original appointment provided in this Chapter.  Thereafter, the successors of all of the commissioners shall be appointed for terms concurrent with the appointing governor.  Any subsequent vacancy on the commission for any reason shall be filled for the unexpired portion of the term in the same manner as the original appointment.  

D.  All members of the board appointed by the governor shall serve terms concurrent with that of the governor.  Each appointment by the governor shall be submitted to the Senate for confirmation.  

Added by Acts 1981, No. 896, §1.  Amended by Acts 1982, No. 111, §1; Acts 1983, 1st Ex. Sess., No. 12, §§1, 2, eff. Jan. 19, 1983; Acts 1984, No. 907, §1.  

If you experience any technical difficulties navigating this website, click here to contact the webmaster.
P.O. Box 94062 (900 North Third Street) Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70804-9062