Skip Navigation Links
      RS 40:1139.5     


§1139.5. Ambulance service district commission; qualifications, appointment, vacancies, removal, and compensation of members

            A. The ambulance service district created pursuant to this Part shall be governed by the Ambulance Service District Commission, hereafter referred to as the "commission". The commission shall be composed of seven members, one member from each congressional district and the remaining member or members from the state at large, appointed by the governor, subject to confirmation by the Senate, from a list of names submitted by the Louisiana Ambulance Alliance. The nomination list submitted to the governor shall include at least three nominees from each congressional district and at least three nominees for each position to be appointed from the state at large. Members of the commission shall be citizens and qualified electors of this state. Initially, three members of the commission shall be appointed for a two-year term, and the remaining members for four-year terms. Thereafter, all members shall be appointed for four years. Any vacancy on the board caused by death, resignation, removal, or disability of a member shall be filled for the unexpired term in the same manner as the original appointment.

            B. Any member of the commission whose term expires shall continue to serve on the commission until such time that a successor is appointed.

            C. Any member of the commission may be removed from office for cause and his appointment rescinded by a two-thirds vote of the membership of the governing authority.

            D. The commission annually shall elect one of its members chairman, and one vice-chairman. The meetings shall be held at the domicile of the district established by the commission. At least four regular meetings shall be held annually. Special meetings may be held at such times and places as shall be specified, by call of the chairman or by a simple majority of the commission.

            E. A majority of the members shall constitute a quorum of the board for all purposes and functions of the board.

            F. Each member of the board shall receive a certificate or commission from the governor and before beginning his term of office shall file with the secretary of state a written oath or affirmation of faithful discharge of his official duties.

            G. The members of the commission and all employees of the corporation shall be subject to the Code of Governmental Ethics. They shall be considered public employees as defined by R.S. 42:1102(18) and the corporation shall be considered an agency as defined by R.S. 42:1102(2) for purposes of the Code of Governmental Ethics only. All meetings of the board shall be open and subject to the provisions of R.S. 42:11 et seq. A record of all proceedings at regular and special meetings of the board shall be kept and shall be open to public inspection, except as otherwise provided by this Title or in R.S. 42:17.

            H. No member of the board shall receive a per diem or shall be reimbursed for expenses incurred when attending a meeting of the board or any of its committees or for the time spent on behalf of the board on official business.

            Acts 2010, No. 887, §1, eff. July 2, 2010; Acts 2012, No. 803, §11; Redesignated from R.S. 40:1236.25 by HCR 84 of 2015 R.S.

If you experience any technical difficulties navigating this website, click here to contact the webmaster.
P.O. Box 94062 (900 North Third Street) Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70804-9062