Skip Navigation Links
      HRULE 6.1     



Rule 6.1.  Standing Committees; select committees

A.  There shall be sixteen standing committees of the House of Representatives whose duties respectively shall be to take into consideration all such subjects as properly pertain to the subjects and purposes assigned to each of them and which may be referred to them by the House.  The sixteen standing committees of the House shall be the following:

(1)  Administration of Criminal Justice.

(2)  Appropriations.

(3)  Agriculture, Forestry, Aquaculture, and Rural Development.

(4)  Civil Law and Procedure.

(5)  Commerce.

(6)  Education.

(7)   Health and Welfare.

(8)  House and Governmental Affairs.

(9)  Insurance.

(10)  Judiciary.

(11)  Labor and Industrial Relations.

(12)  Municipal, Parochial and Cultural Affairs.

(13)  Natural Resources and Environment.

(14)  Retirement.

(15)  Transportation, Highways and Public Works.

(16)  Ways and Means.

B.  The Speaker  may establish a Select Committee on Technology.  He shall appoint the members thereof and designate the chairman.  If established, the Select Committee on Technology shall have the same powers, duties, and authorities and shall be subject to the same rules as standing committees during interims between sessions.  The Select Committee on Technology shall study and advise the House on issues and matters relating to information technology and information system development; software technology industry development; tax exemptions and credits for the software technology industries; electronic commerce; and promotion of technology transfer.

Mason's Manual:  Sec. 600-602

HR 3, 1973; HR 4, 1976; HR 4, 1980; HR 2, 1992 Org. Sess.; HR 1, 1996 Org. Sess.; HR 13, 2003; HR 1, 2004 1st Ex. Sess.; HR 1, 2008 Org. Sess., eff. Jan. 15, 2008.

If you experience any technical difficulties navigating this website, click here to contact the webmaster.
P.O. Box 94062 (900 North Third Street) Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70804-9062