Skip Navigation Links
      RS 3:3363     


§3363.  Structural Pest Control Commission

A.  The Structural Pest Control Commission is hereby created within the Department of Agriculture and Forestry.  The commission shall be domiciled in Baton Rouge.

B.  The commission shall be composed of the following five members:

(1)  Two persons who are licensed structural pest control operators appointed by the commissioner from a list of four licensed pest control operators submitted by the Louisiana Pest Control Association.  Each appointee shall be a resident of this state and shall be actively engaged in structural pest control work.  The two appointments shall not be associated with the same business entity.

(2)  One member of the faculty of the Entomology Department at Louisiana State University who shall be appointed by the commissioner.

(3)  The commissioner and the assistant commissioner for agricultural and environmental sciences of the Louisiana Department of Agriculture and Forestry, or their designees, who shall serve ex officio and shall have all of the same rights and responsibilities as the appointed members.

C.  The appointed members shall serve at the pleasure of the appointing commissioner for terms concurrent with that of the appointing commissioner.  Appointed members shall serve until their successors are appointed and qualified.  Vacancies in the terms of the appointed members shall be filled in the same manner as the original appointment.

D.  Three members shall constitute a quorum for the transaction of business.  Except as otherwise specifically provided in R.S. 3:3372(B), all official actions of the commission shall require the affirmative vote of three members.

E.  The appointed members shall be subject to removal for nonperformance of duty or malfeasance in office.

F.  Members of the commission shall not receive any salary for their duties as members.  The appointed members may receive a per diem for each day spent in actual attendance of meetings of the commission.  The amount of the per diem shall be fixed by the commission in an amount not to exceed forty dollars.  The appointed members may receive a mileage allowance for mileage traveled in attending meetings.  The mileage allowance shall be fixed by the commission in an amount not to exceed the mileage rate for state employees.

G.  The commission shall meet quarterly and may meet on the call of the chairman or any two members.  The commission shall not meet more than twelve times in any calendar year.

H.  Each appointment by the commissioner shall be submitted to the Senate for confirmation.

Acts 1984, No. 800, §1, eff. July 13, 1984; Acts 1997, No. 1032, §1; Acts 2008, No. 920, §1, eff. July 14, 2008.

If you experience any technical difficulties navigating this website, click here to contact the webmaster.
P.O. Box 94062 (900 North Third Street) Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70804-9062