SLS 16RS-2454 **ORIGINAL**

2016 Regular Session

SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 99

BY SENATOR PERRY

COMMENDATIONS. Commends the Kaplan High School Lady Pirates softball team for winning the LHSAA Class 3A championship title.

1	A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION
2	To commend the Kaplan High School Lady Pirates softball team on winning the 2016
3	Allstate Sugar Bowl/LHSAA Softball Fast Pitch 56 tournament to become the Class
4	3A Girls' State Softball Champion.
5	WHEREAS, it is with great pride that the citizens of Louisiana have learned that the
6	Kaplan High School Lady Pirates softball team won the 2016 Allstate Sugar Bowl/LHSAA
7	Class 3A Girls' State Softball Championship on April 30, 2016; and
8	WHEREAS, Lady Pirates' players Kenzie Gaspard, Dawn Bruton, Shelby Simon,
9	Meryl Guidry, Danielle Schexnayder, Summer Mouton, Toiya Ragas, Emma Broussard,
10	Karlee Leger, Megan Hebert, Jennifer Faulk, Olivia Trahan, Mackenzie Cormier,
11	Alexa Lege, Shelbee Leger, Caitlin Roy, Abby Truman, and Mallory Campbell, and
12	managers, Ansley Boudreaux, Summer Guidry, Kaitlyn Hebert, Icelyn Harrison, DeAnna
13	Demarco, and Cedlyn Ragas, completed their season with an impressive district record of
14	ten wins and two losses and an outstanding overall record of twenty-five wins and six losses;
15	and
16	WHEREAS, the Kaplan High School Lady Pirates powered their way past the
17	Lutcher High School Lady Bulldogs by a score of 4-0 in the title game to secure the Class
18	3A girls' state softball championship; and

1	WHEREAS, the road to the championship game had the Lady Pirates defeating the
2	Iota High School Lady Dogs in the quarterfinals and the Parkview Baptist High School Lady
3	Eagles in the semifinals; and
4	WHEREAS, pitcher Abby Trahan was voted the Class 3A Most Outstanding Player
5	and was locked in a pitchers' duel for five innings until the Lady Pirates broke it open in the
6	sixth inning when Megan Hebert scored on Olivia Trahan's suicide squeeze bunt followed
7	by Alexa Lege hitting a two-run single; and
8	WHEREAS, Abby Trahan limited the Lutcher Lady Bulldogs to a pair of infield
9	singles and struck out fourteen batters that raised her season total to three hundred one; and
10	WHEREAS, her impressive play during the tournament resulted in retiring the heart
11	of the Lady Bulldogs' lineup in the seventh inning, striking out a total of nineteen batters in
12	the games played on Sunday, and allowing only two runs throughout the playoffs; and
13	WHEREAS, the distinguished team performance of the entire Kaplan High School
14	Lady Pirates softball team throughout the regular season and the postseason has earned them
15	the Class 3A girls' state championship title; and
16	WHEREAS, the amazing accomplishments of the team could not have been achieved
17	without the guidance and skills of head coach, Shay Herpin, and the assistant coaches,
18	Courtney Hargrave, Jacob Gaspard, and Brittany LeBeouf, as well as all of the other
19	individuals who have contributed to the success of the Lady Pirates' softball program; and
20	WHEREAS, the members of the Legislature of Louisiana wish to recognize each of
21	the coaches, managers, and the extraordinary Lady Pirates' team members on their much
22	deserved championship title which was earned through teamwork, determination, and
23	dedication to the sport of softball.
24	THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby
25	commend and congratulate the players and coaches of the Kaplan High School Lady Pirates
26	softball team on an outstanding and memorable season, and on capturing the Class 3A Girls'
27	State Softball Championship.
28	BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to the
29	principal of Kaplan High School.

SLS 16RS-2454 ORIGINAL SCR NO. 99

The original instrument and the following digest, which constitutes no part of the legislative instrument, were prepared by Nancy Vicknair.

DIGEST 2016 Regular Session

SCR 99 Original

Perry

Commends the Kaplan High School Lady Pirates softball team on winning the 2016 Allstate Sugar Bowl/LHSAA Softball Fast Pitch 56 tournament to become the Class 3A Girls' State Softball Champion.