BY SENATOR PERRY AND REPRESENTATIVE HENSGENS

A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

To commend the Kaplan High School Lady Pirates softball team on winning the 2016

Allstate Sugar Bowl/LHSAA Softball Fast Pitch 56 tournament to become the Class

3A Girls' State Softball Champion.

WHEREAS, it is with great pride that the citizens of Louisiana have learned that the Kaplan High School Lady Pirates softball team won the 2016 Allstate Sugar Bowl/LHSAA Class 3A Girls' State Softball Championship on April 30, 2016; and

WHEREAS, Lady Pirates' players Kenzie Gaspard, Dawn Bruton, Shelby Simon, Meryl Guidry, Danielle Schexnayder, Summer Mouton, Toiya Ragas, Emma Broussard, Karlee Leger, Megan Hebert, Jennifer Faulk, Olivia Trahan, Mackenzie Cormier, Alexa Lege, Shelbee Leger, Caitlin Roy, Abby Truman, and Mallory Campbell, and managers, Ansley Boudreaux, Summer Guidry, Kaitlyn Hebert, Icelyn Harrison, DeAnna Demarco, and Cedlyn Ragas, completed their season with an impressive district record of ten wins and two losses and an outstanding overall record of twenty-five wins and six losses; and

WHEREAS, the Kaplan High School Lady Pirates powered their way past the Lutcher High School Lady Bulldogs by a score of 4-0 in the title game to secure the Class 3A girls' state softball championship; and

WHEREAS, the road to the championship game had the Lady Pirates defeating the Iota High School Lady Dogs in the quarterfinals and the Parkview Baptist High School Lady Eagles in the semifinals; and

WHEREAS, pitcher Abby Trahan was voted the Class 3A Most Outstanding Player and was locked in a pitchers' duel for five innings until the Lady Pirates broke it open in the sixth inning when Megan Hebert scored on Olivia Trahan's suicide squeeze bunt followed by Alexa Lege hitting a two-run single; and

WHEREAS, Abby Trahan limited the Lutcher Lady Bulldogs to a pair of infield singles and struck out fourteen batters that raised her season total to three hundred one; and

SCR NO. 99 ENROLLED

WHEREAS, her impressive play during the tournament resulted in retiring the heart

of the Lady Bulldogs' lineup in the seventh inning, striking out a total of nineteen batters in

the games played on Sunday, and allowing only two runs throughout the playoffs; and

WHEREAS, the distinguished team performance of the entire Kaplan High School

Lady Pirates softball team throughout the regular season and the postseason has earned them

the Class 3A girls' state championship title; and

WHEREAS, the amazing accomplishments of the team could not have been achieved

without the guidance and skills of head coach, Shay Herpin, and the assistant coaches,

Courtney Hargrave, Jacob Gaspard, and Brittany LeBeouf, as well as all of the other

individuals who have contributed to the success of the Lady Pirates' softball program; and

WHEREAS, the members of the Legislature of Louisiana wish to recognize each of

the coaches, managers, and the extraordinary Lady Pirates' team members on their much

deserved championship title which was earned through teamwork, determination, and

dedication to the sport of softball.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby

commend and congratulate the players and coaches of the Kaplan High School Lady Pirates

softball team on an outstanding and memorable season, and on capturing the Class 3A Girls'

State Softball Championship.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to the

principal of Kaplan High School.

PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE

SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

Page 2 of 2