ENROLLED

SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 138

1

BY SENATOR CORTEZ AND REPRESENTATIVES BISHOP, COUSSAN AND NANCY LANDRY

A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

2	To commend the 2015-2016 St. Thomas More High School boys soccer team and Head
3	Coach Casey Friend upon their Division II state championship win.
4	WHEREAS, the St. Thomas More High School boys soccer team completed a
5	sensational season, earning the title of 2015-2016 Division II state champions after defeating
6	Holy Cross High School, the 6-seeded team, by a score of one to zero, to win a thrilling
7	state championship game at Tad Gormley Stadium in New Orleans, Louisiana, on
8	February 26, 2016; and
9	WHEREAS, this historic victory was the second Louisiana High School Athletic
10	Association Division II state title for a St. Thomas More Cougars boys soccer team since the
11	first victory fifteen years ago in 2001; and
12	WHEREAS, the state championship win was the culmination of an unforgettable
13	season of nineteen wins, six losses, and six ties (19-6-6) and a district record of 2-0-1; and
14	WHEREAS, Coach Casey Friend was named "Coach of the Year" for Division II
15	District 3 and John Cook, Miles Hesterly, Will Labar, and Casey Friend were all named the
16	Best Coaching Staff in the State; and
17	WHEREAS, the coaching staff and all the members of the 2015-2016 team
18	performed at a superb level of excellence throughout the entire season and into the playoffs,
19	and each of these great athletes and staff deserves recognition for their vital contribution to
20	the winning effort of the state championship title; and
21	WHEREAS, this distinguished team of champions includes Justin Guidry, Landon
22	Sellers, Ormond LaSalle, Joseph Oliver, Blake Bolgiano, Connor Latiolais, Josh Toomey,
23	Blake St. Cyr, Jack Meijer, Christian Qawami, Ethan Trahan, Quentin Olivier, Nathan
24	Ratzlaff, Parker Pelletier, Josh Ardoin, Grant Rodrigue, Ronny Rodriguez, Andre Picard,
25	Grant Ortego, Michael Fatjo, and Evan Wimberley; and
26	WHEREAS, the St. Thomas More High School Cougars boys soccer team is
27	composed of numerous talented players who garnered extraordinary division distinctions

SCR NO. 138	ENROLLED

such as Ronny Rodriguez as the Overall and State Championship Most Valuable Player, three young men were chosen as First Team All State, Blake Bolgiano, Jack Meijer and Ronny Rodriguez; also included are those members named to the First Team All District, Blake Bolgiano, Ronny Rodriguez, Nathan Ratzlaff, Ormond LaSalle, Jack Meijer, Connor Latiolais; along with Second Team All District members, Josh Toomey, Andre Picard, Grant Rodrigue, Parker Pelletier, Landon Sellers, and Michael Fatjo; and

WHEREAS, all the St. Thomas More High School Cougars boys soccer team contributed to the unsurpassed team unity and trust that propelled this winning team on to earning the 2015-2016 state championship title; and

WHEREAS, the amazing accomplishments of the team could not have been achieved without the guidance and skill of Head Coach Casey Friend, and the best assistant coaching staff in the state, consisting of John Cook, Miles Hesterly, and Will Labar, along with the supportive faculty, boosters, and family members who all contributed their time and effort to the success of the school's superior soccer program; and

WHEREAS, the alumni and fans of St. Thomas More High School recognize the immense pride and distinguished honor that the boys soccer team brings to its school, community, and state.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend and congratulate the St. Thomas More High School boys soccer team upon winning the 2015-2016 Division II state championship and does hereby extend best wishes to the players, coaches, and all who are involved in this fine athletics program as they celebrate their exceptional season and prepare for continued growth and success in the future.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to St. Thomas More High School boys soccer Head Coach Casey Friend.

PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE

SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES