SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 12

BY SENATORS WALSWORTH AND THOMPSON AND REPRESENTATIVES HOFFMANN, HUNTER, JACKSON AND MCFARLAND

A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

To commend Dave Norris on being named to the Louisiana Political Hall of Fame.

WHEREAS, the Louisiana Political Museum and Hall of Fame was created by an act of the Louisiana Legislature in 1987 to commemorate the many colorful and historic figures that have shaped the state's politics; and

WHEREAS, the 2017 Louisiana Political Hall of Fame induction class includes Dave Norris who is currently serving his tenth term as mayor of West Monroe, Louisiana, a position he has held since 1978; and

WHEREAS, before entering the political realm, he was an associate professor of economics and director of the Small Business Institute at his alma mater, the University of Louisiana at Monroe; and

WHEREAS, during his long and productive service as mayor, the city of West Monroe has experienced sound financial management, steady growth, and expansion of low-cost and high-quality public works services; and

WHEREAS, under his supervision, the city has constructed the West Ouachita Senior Center, the Community Center, the Ike Hamilton Exposition Center, and has expanded its recreational facilities to include Lazarre Park, Kiroli Park, and Restoration Park; and

WHEREAS, in addition to his formal duties, Mayor Norris serves on the Board of Directors of the Living Well Foundation, the Council of Governments, is chairman of the Monroe/West Monroe Public Trust Finance Authority, and serves as choir director of the McGuire United Methodist Church in West Monroe; and

WHEREAS, through his dedication and service to the people of the city of West Monroe, Louisiana, Dave Norris has rightly earned a place among the many legends that have made the state of Louisiana a great place to live. THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend and congratulate Dave Norris on being named to the Louisiana Political Hall of Fame.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to Dave Norris.

PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE

SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES