HLS 17RS-577 ORIGINAL

2017 Regular Session

1

HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 21

BY REPRESENTATIVES COUSSAN AND BISHOP

COMMENDATIONS: Commends the St. Thomas More Catholic High School football team on winning the 2016 Division II state championship

A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

2	To commend the St. Thomas More Catholic High School football team upon winning the
3	2016 Division II state championship.
4	WHEREAS, it is appropriate to commend the St. Thomas More Catholic High
5	School football team upon winning the 2016 Division II football state championship; and
6	WHEREAS, the Cougars of the St. Thomas More Catholic High School football
7	team have completed a sensational season, earning the title of 2016 Division II state
8	champions after defeating the Parkview Baptist School Eagles by a score of fifty-four to
9	twenty-nine at the exciting championship game on Friday, December 2, 2016, at the
10	Mercedes-Benz Superdome in New Orleans; and
11	WHEREAS, this thrilling victory marked the Cougars' first football state
12	championship in the school's history and the culmination of a truly unforgettable season; and
13	WHEREAS, the members of the team performed at the highest level of excellence
14	throughout the 2016 season and playoffs, and each of these talented Cougars deserves
15	recognition for his vital contributions to the winning effort: Mason Pesson, Gabe LeBeouf,
16	Gregory Mahtook, Matthew Lagrange, William Cryer, Jacque Lebas, Jude Joseph, Chris
17	Primeaux, Truitt Chenevert, Alex Hannie, Dalen Cambre, Nate Cox, Tanner Raphael, Blake
18	St. Cyr, Drew McDaniel, Peyton Landry, Joel Moreau, Hadden Aranza, Sam Boutte, Peyton
19	Lege, Sydney Lindon, Exan Dominique, Caleb Clark, Connor Latiolais, Jack O'Neal, Mack
20	Moncla, Sam Horton, John Henry Helmer, Gabe Pontiff, Hunter Hall, Michael Patin,
21	Andrew Sonnier, Andrew Bayard, Luke LeBlanc, Hunter Duhon, C.J. Hill, Cade Broussard,

1	Try Clark, Grant Arceneaux, Jean-Luc LeBlanc, Bennett Krampe, John King, Chase Taylor,
2	David Starkovich, Brennan Langlinais, Caden Foreman, Trevor Robertson, Christopher
3	Krause, Jerry Wimberly, Paul Laborde, Joseph Bryson, Quinn Viator, Conner Denais, Ben
4	Thibodeaux, Jake Breaux, Connor Duffy, Hunter Bergeron, Noah Fontenot, Jacob Barras,
5	Cameron Ramon, Brady Hyde, Elliot Rountree, Henry Koke, Thomas Deloach, Mikey
6	Signorelli, Bryce Louviere, Kade Simar, Zack Crain, Nicholas Cuccia, Zach Favaloro, Jacob
7	Stirling, Jonathan Harding, Andrew Mouton, Ryan Killeen, Ross Gaspard, William
8	Blanchet, Spencer Trepagnier, Brayden Steckler, Max Jumonville, Aiden Babineaux, Luke
9	Harris, Beau Hughes, Grant Young, Landon Burton, Griffin Hebert, Carter Dooley, Cole
10	Lambert, John Robertson, Matthew Gauthreaux, Griffin Thibeaux, Jonathon Thibodeaux,
11	Ben Moody, Thomas Morton, Burke Matthews, Tristian Steckler, Brennan Romero, Brandon
12	Gannon, Peyton Wilson, Matthew Montesano, Sam Greenwood, Alex Lamb, and Hunter
13	Clay; and
14	WHEREAS, the team's amazing feats could not have been achieved without the
15	unwavering dedication and inspiring guidance of head coach, Jim Hightower, and others on
16	the coaching staff, Terry Tidwell, David Leblanc, Corey Arceneaux, Shane Savoie, Lance
17	Strother, Broc Prejean, Martin Cannon, Jonathan Pry, Nick Cortese, and Jacob Rodrigue, as
18	well as the passion of the many Cougars' supporters who contribute to the success of the
19	school's football program; and
20	WHEREAS, the team's outstanding 2016 season commences a glorious tradition for
21	the Cougars, and all alumni and fans recognize the tremendous honor, pride, and joy that the
22	team brings to St. Thomas More Catholic High School, Lafayette Parish, and the state of
23	Louisiana.
24	THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby
25	commend the St. Thomas More Catholic High School football team upon winning the 2016
26	Division II state championship; does hereby record for posterity this exceptional team's
27	triumph in the great sport of football; and does hereby extend best wishes to the players,
28	coaches, and everyone involved with this fine football program as they celebrate their
29	championship season and prepare for continued success in the future.

HLS 17RS-577

ORIGINAL
HCR NO. 21

1 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a suitable copy of this Resolution be transmitted

to Head Coach Jim Hightower.

DIGEST

The digest printed below was prepared by House Legislative Services. It constitutes no part of the legislative instrument. The keyword, one-liner, abstract, and digest do not constitute part of the law or proof or indicia of legislative intent. [R.S. 1:13(B) and 24:177(E)]

HCR 21 Original

2

2017 Regular Session

Coussan

Commends the St. Thomas More Catholic High School football team upon winning the Division II state championship.