## 2017 Regular Session

HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 46

- BY REPRESENTATIVES JEFFERSON, JACKSON, BAGNERIS, BOUIE, CARPENTER, GARY CARTER, COX, FRANKLIN, GAINES, GLOVER, HALL, JIMMY HARRIS, HUNTER, JAMES, JENKINS, JORDAN, TERRY LANDRY, LYONS, MARCELLE, DUSTIN MILLER, NORTON, PIERRE, PRICE, AND SMITH AND SENATORS BARROW, BISHOP, BOUDREAUX, CARTER, COLOMB, MORRELL, PETERSON, AND TARVER
- COMMENDATIONS: Commends Coach Broderick Fobbs of the Grambling State University football team for the accomplishments of his team and his individual coaching accolades

1	A RESOLUTION
2	To commend Coach Broderick Fobbs for his outstanding accomplishments as head coach
3	of the Grambling State University (GSU) football team, to commend him on another
4	historic season of Tiger football, to commend him for being selected 2016 Football
5	Coach of the Year for the Southwestern Athletic Conference (SWAC), and to
6	commend him for being selected the 2016 Sheridan Broadcasting Networks (SBN)
7	Sports Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year.
8	WHEREAS, Coach Fobbs has engineered a resurgence of one of the greatest football
9	programs in the history of historically black colleges and universities (HBCU) athletics, and
10	it is appropriate to commend and celebrate this beloved coach who is a widely respected and
11	admired resident of Louisiana; and
12	WHEREAS, Coach Fobbs earned all-state and all-district honors in football and
13	baseball as a student athlete at Carroll High School in Monroe and was twice selected as
14	team captain of the football team under legendary GSU head football Coach Eddie
15	Robinson; and
16	WHEREAS, the 2016 football season was one of the Tigers' best in school history,
17	the team finished with a 11-1 overall record, ending the season as 2016 SWAC Football

## HLS 17RS-1269

1	champions and the HBCU National Football champions with their 10-9 victory over North
2	Carolina Central University Eagles in the 2016 Air Force Reserve Celebration Bowl; and
3	WHEREAS, this marks the 24 <sup>th</sup> SWAC Football championship in school history and
4	the 15 <sup>th</sup> HBCU National Football championship in school history; and
5	WHEREAS, under the three-year leadership of Coach Fobbs, Grambling has posted
6	a 28-9 overall record and an impressive 25-2 record in conference play; and
7	WHEREAS, at the conclusion of the 2016 football season, Coach Fobbs was selected
8	as the 2016 SWAC Football Coach of the Year and the 2016 SBN Sports Eddie Robinson
9	Coach of the Year; and
10	WHEREAS, it is appropriate to recognize Coach Fobbs for his outstanding
11	achievements, dedication, and contributions to Grambling State University and the
12	Grambling community, to express gratitude for his monumental achievements in bringing
13	about the resurgence of the GSU football team, and to extend appreciation for the
14	tremendous pride and honor that he brings to Grambling State University and the state of
15	Louisiana.
16	THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the House of Representatives of the
17	Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend and congratulate Coach Broderick Fobbs for
18	his success and triumph in coaching the great sport of football, does hereby recognize and
19	record for posterity his outstanding accomplishments, and does extend to him every good
20	wish for continued success and happiness at the helm of GSU Tiger football.
21	BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a suitable copy of this Resolution be transmitted
22	to Broderick Fobbs, head coach of the Grambling State University football program.

## DIGEST

The digest printed below was prepared by House Legislative Services. It constitutes no part of the legislative instrument. The keyword, one-liner, abstract, and digest do not constitute part of the law or proof or indicia of legislative intent. [R.S. 1:13(B) and 24:177(E)]

## HR 46 Original

2017 Regular Session

Jefferson

Commends Grambling State University head football coach Broderick Fobbs for winning the 2016 SWAC Football Coach of the Year, the 2016 SBN Sports Eddie Robinson Coach of the Year, and leading the Grambling State University football team to a win in the 2016 HBCU National Football championship.