2017 Regular Session

HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 40

BY REPRESENTATIVE HALL AND SENATOR LUNEAU

COMMENDATIONS: Commends Peabody Magnet High School boys basketball team upon winning the 2017 Class 3A state championship

1	A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION
2	To commend the Peabody Magnet High School boys basketball team upon winning the 2017
3	Class 3A state championship.
4	WHEREAS, it is appropriate to commend the Peabody Magnet High School boys
5	basketball team upon winning the 2017 Class 3A state championship; and
6	WHEREAS, the Peabody Magnet High School Warhorse basketball team completed
7	a remarkable season by earning the title of 2017 Class 3A state champions after securing a
8	seventy-three to fifty-four win over the Wossman High School Wildcats; and
9	WHEREAS, this victory was especially sweet as the Warhorses avenged a defeat at
10	the hands of the Wildcats in the 2016 boys basketball state semifinals; and
11	WHEREAS, this championship marks the eighth state title in program history and
12	the seventh title for the Warhorses long-time head coach, Charles Smith; and
13	WHEREAS, the members of the team performed at the highest level of excellence
14	throughout the 2016 regular season and playoffs, amassing a record of thirty-five wins and
15	three losses, while riding a twenty-five-game win streak to end the season; and
16	WHEREAS, the team's amazing feats could not have been achieved without the
17	unwavering dedication, support, and guidance of head coach Charles Smith and his coaching
18	staff: Kedric Smith and Buddy Holston; as well as the passion of the many Warhorse
19	supporters who contributed to the success of the school's basketball program; and

HLS 17RS-1230

1

2

3

4

5

6

7

8

9

10

11

WHEREAS, the Warhorses extraordinary season led to players being selected by the Louisiana Sports Writers Association as Class 3A all-state players, with Cedric Russell and Kevin Norman receiving first-team selections; and WHEREAS, the accolades for the Warhorses did not stop there as a number of players were named to the 2017 All-Central Louisiana boys basketball team, with Cedric Russell and Kevin Norman receiving first-team selections; and Darius Smith receiving an honorable mention selection; and WHEREAS, a number of players were also named to the 2017 All-District 3-3A boys basketball team, with Cedric Russell, Kevin Norman, and Darius Smith receiving first-team selections; Dwight Simon being named to the All-District defensive team; and Corey King and Terrell McGee receiving honorable mention selections; and

WHEREAS, the team's outstanding 2016-2017 season upholds the glorious tradition
of the Warhorses, and all alumni and fans recognize the tremendous honor, pride, and joy
that the team brings to Peabody Magnet High School, Rapides Parish, and the state of
Louisiana.

16 THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby 17 commend and congratulate the Peabody Magnet High School boys basketball team upon 18 winning the 2017 Class 3A state championship; does hereby record for posterity this 19 exceptional team's triumph in the great sport of basketball; and hereby extends best wishes 20 to the players, coaches, and everyone involved with this fine basketball program as they 21 celebrate their championship season and prepare for continued success in the future.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a suitable copy of this Resolution be transmitted to Peabody Magnet High School, head coach Charles Smith, assistant coaches Kedric Smith and Buddy Holston, and each of the nineteen outstanding Peabody Magnet High School Warhorses boys basketball team members who contributed to this great accomplishment.

DIGEST

The digest printed below was prepared by House Legislative Services. It constitutes no part of the legislative instrument. The keyword, one-liner, abstract, and digest do not constitute part of the law or proof or indicia of legislative intent. [R.S. 1:13(B) and 24:177(E)]

HCR 40 Original

2017 Regular Session

Hall

Commends Peabody Magnet High School boys basketball team upon winning the 2017 Class 3A state championship.