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Present law authorizes tax credits to physicians and dentist under certain conditions. Physicians must possess an unrestricted
license from Louisiana to practice medicine, and the physician’s primary practice has to be relocated within 20 miles of a
community hospital but more than 20 miles from the nearest incorporated city (defined by a population greater than 30,000
persons).  Dentist are eligible if their practice is relocated to a designated Dental Health Professional Shortage Area.  The
credit is for the lessor of 1)  the tax due, or 2)  $3,600 on returns filed before July 1, 2018, or $5,000 after July 1, 2018.

Proposed law first changes the requirements by which a health care professional described in this measure qualifies for a tax 
credit, changing where an applicant can practice and qualify for credits, and expands the number of health care professionals
that are eligible for the tax credit by adding a primary care nurse practitioner. A $1.5 million annual maximum of tax credits
can be granted. The credit sunsets after the 2020 tax year.

There is no anticipated direct material effect on governmental expenditures as a result of this measure.

The existing physician/dentist tax credit resulted in a loss of State General Fund of $511,000 for FY 16.   Prior to Act 125 of
2015, which temporarily imposed a 28% reduction to this tax credit, the average state revenue loss was approximately 
$850,000 annually.

Since this measure adds another healthcare professional eligible for the credit (approximately 3,600 nurse practitioners
operating in Louisiana),  it is assumed a loss of additional state revenue would occur in FY 18 and future years.  However,
this law appears to further restrict where a professional must practice to be eligible.  Physicians and nurse practitioners are
only eligible if they practice in a designated Primary Care Health Professional Shortage defined under federal law and rural
area as defined by LDH.  Similarly, dentist are now required to practice within a rural area as defined by LDH.

To the extent credits would be granted up to the $1.5 M cap, this measure results in additional state exposure of nearly $1
million per year.  The bill sunsets the credit after the 2020 tax year (FY21 effect).

This measure authorize the Louisiana Department of Health to administer the program, ultimately choosing a methodology to
choose which providers are eligible for the annual credit.
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