BY SENATOR PETERSON

A RESOLUTION

To recognize Thursday, June 1, 2017, as the thirty-third annual Red and White Day at the Louisiana Legislature.

WHEREAS, it is appropriate to commend Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Incorporated on one hundred four years of service and outstanding achievements in the community, the state, and the world; and

WHEREAS, the Louisiana Social Action Committee of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Incorporated would like to acknowledge that the vision of Red and White Day at the Louisiana Legislature that began in 1985 has resulted in Red and White Day growing from a Louisiana tradition to one observed by many of the sororities and fraternities, more than one thousand chapters throughout the country, and held annually at the nation's capital in Washington, D.C.; and

WHEREAS, Delta Sigma Theta Sorority was founded on January 13, 1913, by twenty-two collegiate women at Howard University who were eager to use their collective strength to promote academic excellence; and

WHEREAS, they organized to provide scholarships and support to those in need, to educate and stimulate participation in the establishment of positive public policy, to highlight issues, and find solutions to problems in their communities; and

WHEREAS, Delta Sigma Theta Sorority celebrates one hundred four years of exercising its collective strength to promote academic excellence and to provide assistance to the community; and

WHEREAS, Delta Sigma Theta Sorority was incorporated in 1930 and is a private, nonprofit organization that provides assistance and support through established programs in local communities and throughout the world; and

SR NO. 152 <u>ENROLLED</u>

WHEREAS, Delta Sigma Theta Sorority is the largest African-American Greek letter sorority, a sisterhood of more than two hundred thousand predominately African-American college educated women; and

WHEREAS, it is comprised of over nine hundred chapters located in the United States, England, Japan (Tokyo and Okinawa), Germany, the Virgin Islands, Bermuda, Haiti, the Bahamas, and the Republic of Korea; and

WHEREAS, Delta Sigma Theta Sorority uses its Five-Point Program Thrust of Economic Development, Educational Development, International Awareness and Involvement, Physical and Mental Health, and Political Awareness and Involvement to uplift, encourage, and develop the global community; and

WHEREAS, the members of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority stand on the shoulders of giants, such as Senator Diana E. Bajoie, Representative Renee Gill Pratt, Representative Pinkie Carolyn Wilkerson, Representative Rosalind Peychaud, Representative Jalila Jefferson Bullock, Senator Cheryl Gray Evans, and Senator Karen Carter Peterson who have left an incredible imprint on this state's history; and

WHEREAS, on this Red and White Day, the sorority honors and celebrates one of its members who has made a major impact on the state in true Delta fashion and proven herself as a notable leader in the state of Louisiana and the country; The Honorable Diana E. Bajoie, the first woman to take the oath as the President Pro Tempore of the Louisiana State Senate; and

WHEREAS, the sorority will be joined by Mayor President Sharon Weston Broome who will serve as the keynote Red and White Day speaker and will assist the members in congratulating this outstanding woman.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Senate of the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby recognize Thursday, June 1, 2017, as Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Incorporated's Red and White Day at the Louisiana Legislature, does hereby commend the women of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Incorporated for their exceptional achievements and manifold contributions, and does hereby extend enduring appreciation to the organization and its members for the tremendous honor and pride that they bring to their local communities, the state of Louisiana, and the United States of America.

SR NO. 152 ENROLLED

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to the president of the Grand Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Incorporated, and to the regional director for the Southwest Region of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Incorporated.

PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE