## HLS 17RS-1188

2017 Regular Session

HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 191

BY REPRESENTATIVE PIERRE

COMMENDATIONS: Commends the Lafayette Christian Academy Knights girls' basketball team upon winning the Division IV championship title and to recognize the basketball team for their extraordinary achievements during the 2016-2017 basketball season

1	A RESOLUTION
2	To commend the Lafayette Christian Academy Knights girls' basketball team upon winning
3	the 2016-2017 Division IV championship title; and to recognize the team for their
4	extraordinary achievements during the 2016-2017 basketball season.
5	WHEREAS, the members of the team performed at the highest level of excellence
6	throughout the 2016-2017 season, amassing a record of twenty-eight wins and ten losses and
7	finishing with thirteen wins and one loss in district play; and
8	WHEREAS, Megan Abrams, Alexia Ardoin, Tionna Ballentine, Kameron Borel,
9	Myca Broussard, Autumn Chassion, Isha Cooper, Janae Duffy, Tro'Nayia Issac, Kristen
10	Journet, Reagan Lantier, Erin Rogers, Sasha Rudd, Ajayah Simpson, Lauryn Starwood,
11	Madison Trahan, Madison Ward, and Zoe Wiltz all played a tremendous role in the success
12	of the 2016-2017 season; and
13	WHEREAS, in 2017 the Lafayette Christian Academy Knights girls' basketball team
14	made their first trip to the All State Sugar Bowl Louisiana High School Athletic Association
15	girls' basketball tournament; and
16	WHEREAS, the tournament was held at University Center on the campus of
17	Southeastern Louisiana University in Hammond, Louisiana; and
18	WHEREAS, in their first appearance in the Division IV championship game, the
19	Lady Knights took on the Houma Christian Warriors; and

## HLS 17RS-1188

1	WHEREAS, the Lady Knights had outstanding performances from several players,
2	but most notably from Junior Megan Abrams who finished the championship game with
3	thirty-three points, seven rebounds, three steals, and three blocks and sophomore Janae
4	Duffy added six points and twelve rebounds; and
5	WHEREAS, the Lady Knights began to pull away in the second quarter of the state
6	championship game, outscoring the Lady Warriors fifteen to eleven and took a twenty-two
7	to eighteen lead at halftime; and
8	WHEREAS, the Lady Knights outscored the Lady Warriors thirteen to eight and
9	increasing their lead to nine points heading into the fourth quarter; and
10	WHEREAS, the Lafayette Christian Academy Knights girls' basketball team
11	completed a sensational season by earning their first title of Division IV state champions
12	after defeating Houma Christian by a score of fifty-four to forty-six in a hard fought state
13	championship game; and
14	WHEREAS, the accomplishments of this team could not have been achieved without
15	the unwavering dedication and guidance of head coach, Errol Rogers; assistant coach, Devin
16	Lantier; and managers, Tanavia Brooks, Teira Comier, McKenzie Lavergne, and Katlyn
17	Moran.
18	THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the House of Representatives of the
19	Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend and congratulate the Lafayette Christian
20	Academy Knights girls' basketball team upon winning the 2016-2017 Division IV state
21	championship; does hereby record for posterity this exceptional team's success in the sport
22	of basketball; and does hereby extend best wishes to the players, coaches, and all others who
23	contributed to this basketball program's success as they celebrate their championship season
24	and prepare for continued success.
25	BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a suitable copy of this Resolution be transmitted
26	to the head coach of the Lafayette Christian Academy Knights girls' basketball team, Errol

27 Rogers.

## DIGEST

The digest printed below was prepared by House Legislative Services. It constitutes no part of the legislative instrument. The keyword, one-liner, abstract, and digest do not constitute part of the law or proof or indicia of legislative intent. [R.S. 1:13(B) and 24:177(E)]

HR 191 Original

2017 Regular Session

Pierre

Commends the Lafayette Christian Academy Knights girls' basketball team upon winning the 2016-2017 Division IV state championship.