## **RÉSUMÉ DIGEST**

## SCR 117 2017 Regular Session Walsworth

Creates the Louisiana Historical Archives Task Force to study the conditions, needs, issues, and problems relative to the preservation of precious print, visual, audio, and digital historical records and to recommend any action or legislation that the commission deems necessary or appropriate.

Provides that the task force consist of the following 16 members:

- (1) Two members of the Senate appointed by the president, one who shall be designated by the president as the chairperson.
- (2) Two members of the House of Representatives appointed by the speaker.
- (3) The lieutenant governor, or his designee.
- (4) The secretary of state, or his designee.
- (5) The secretary of the Department of Culture, Recreation and Tourism, or his designee.
- (6) The executive director of Preserve Louisiana, or his designee.
- (7) The executive director of the Historic New Orleans Collection, or his designee.
- (8) The secretary of the Smithsonian Institute, or his designee.
- (9) The commissioner of higher education, or his designee.
- (10) The president of the Louisiana Clerks of Court Association, or his designee.
- (11) The commissioner of administration, or his designee.
- (12) The head of the Louisiana Research Collection at Tulane University.
- (13) The president of the Southern University System, or his designee.
- (14) A representative of the African American Heritage Museum.

Requires that the task force make a report to the legislature no later than 60 days prior to the 2018 Regular Session.

Provides that the task force shall terminate on March 1, 2018.