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Present law requires every motorboat or sailboat operated in state waters to be registered and numbered. Present law
provides for the number system and application process for the LA Department of Wildlife and Fisheries to issue a number
and certificate of number. Present law further requires the owner to pay a fee based upon the length of the boat. Proposed
law makes motorboat and sailboat number provisions in present law including application fees, applicable to houseboats.
Proposed law creates the Derelict Houseboat Account within the Conservation Fund and requires the revenue collected from
houseboat registration fees to be paid into the account. Proposed law further requires the funds in that account are to be
used solely for awarding grants to parish governments to remove any unattended, derelict, junked, or abandoned houseboat
in any canal, coulee, drainage ditch, outfall canal, bayou, bay lake, or any other waterway, whether navigable or not, or on
the banks thereof within the state of Louisiana. Proposed law authorizes the commission to promulgate rules and regulations
in accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act to provide for the application, administration, and award of such grants.

There will be an indeterminable increase in expenditures to the Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries in order to
purchase additional boat registrations, however these costs are recovered by the associated fees.

Additionally, the Department of Wildlife and Fisheries will be required to award grants to parish governments with revenues
generated from the registration of non-motorized house boats to remove any unattended, derelict, junked, or abandoned
houseboat in any canal, coulee, drainage ditch, outfall canal, bayou, bay lake, or any other waterway, whether navigable or
not, or on the banks thereof within the state of Louisiana. The amount of money that will be granted to parish governments
is indeterminable.

There will be an indeterminable increase in revenues to the statutorily dedicated Derelict Houseboat Account within the
Conservation Fund as a result of the proposed legislation. The amount of revenue generated is indeterminable because the
number of non-motorized houseboats that would require registration is unknown. The fees assessed will be based off of
current fees assessed on motorboats and sailboats which range from $23 - $73+  dependent upon the length of the boat.

The department is currently working to determine the best approach to begin registering non-motorized houseboats.

There will be an increase in revenues to local governments to the extent the entities are awarded grant money from the
Department of Wildlife and Fisheries. Proposed law authorizes the commission to promulgate rules and regulations to
provide for the application, administration, and award of such grants.
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Dual Referral RulesSenate House

13.5.1 >= $100,000 Annual Fiscal Cost {S&H} 6.8(F)(1) >= $100,000 SGF Fiscal Cost {H & S}

13.5.2 >= $500,000 Annual Tax or Fee
                Change {S&H}

6.8(G) >= $500,000 Tax or Fee Increase
                or a Net Fee Decrease {S}


