SLS 18RS-3406 **ORIGINAL**

2018 Regular Session

SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 166

BY SENATOR LUNEAU

COMMENDATIONS. Commends the 2018 Peabody Magnet High School girls powerlifting team on winning the state championship.

1	A RESOLUTION
2	To commend the Peabody Magnet High School girls powerlifting team for winning its first
3	state championship with an LHSAA Division III title.
4	WHEREAS, the Peabody Magnet High School Lady Warhorses powerlifting team
5	completed a sensational season, earning the title of 2018 state powerlifting champions
6	scoring fifty points, twenty points more than runner-up Abbeville, on March 16, 2018, at
7	Rapides Parish Coliseum; and
8	WHEREAS, the state powerlifting championship win was the culmination of an
9	unforgettable season for the Lady Warhorses as none of Peabody's lifters were alive when
10	the school won its last girls title in any sport in 1995; and
11	WHEREAS, the members of the team performed at the highest level of excellence
12	throughout the 2018 season and at the state meet, and each of these great Lady Warhorses
13	deserves recognition for her vital contribution to the winning effort; and
14	WHEREAS, the team included five individual state champions, senior Demetria
15	Vincent (181 class), senior Qwenisha' Hillard (97 class), junior Alexis Venson (132 class),
16	junior Trystian Eli (148 class) and junior Sa'mauri'a Brooks (super heavyweight), who was
17	named as the Most Outstanding Lifter in the heavy division, as well as Charity Jones and Kai
18	Kirk who captured second place finishes and Dey'Shalund Eggins who finished third, senior

SLS 18RS-3406 ORIGINAL SR NO. 166

Tiona Yocum, and Kennasia Boyd, Jeralyn Brown, Taina Caldwell, Zoria Goodley, 1 Malaysia Holmes, Ariron Kay, Alaijah Keller, Ashalyn Lewis, Ileana Miller, Essence 2 3 Moore, Nylia Stanley, Carlissa Walker, and Dana Williams; and 4 WHEREAS, the amazing accomplishments of the team could not have been achieved without the guidance and skills of head coach Jesse Esters, as well as all of the other 5 6 individuals who have contributed to the success of the school's powerlifting program; and 7 WHEREAS, as for Brooks, Venson, Vincent, and Hillard, each of them set state 8 records in Division III: Hillard for dead lift in the 97 class (280 pounds); Venson for squat 9 in the 132 class (350); Vincent for squat (380), bench (175), dead lift (400) and total (955) in the 181 class, and Brooks for squat (500), dead lift (420) and total (1,130) in the super 10 11 heavyweight class, while Eli set personal records; and 12 WHEREAS, Charity Jones set a state record in Division III (Class 3A) after squatting 13 290 pounds; and 14 WHEREAS, the achievements of the athletes who comprise the Peabody Magnet 15 High School girls powerlifting team are notable and worthy of recognition, and the team has 16 brought immense pride and distinguished honor to the school, community, and state. THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Senate of the Legislature of Louisiana 17 18 does hereby commend the Peabody Magnet School Lady Warhorses powerlifting team upon 19 winning the 2018 state powerlifting championship and does hereby extend best wishes to the 20 players, coaches, and everyone involved with this fine powerlifting program as they

The original instrument and the following digest, which constitutes no part of the legislative instrument, were prepared by Jerry J. Guillot.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to

celebrate their exceptional season and prepare for continued success in the future.

DIGEST SR 166 Original 2018 Regular Session

21

22

23

Coach Jesse Esters.

Luneau

Commends the Peabody Magnet School Lady Warhorses powerlifting team upon winning the 2018 state powerlifting championship.