## BY SENATORS PETERSON, CARTER AND MORRELL AND REPRESENTATIVE MORENO

## A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

To create and provide with respect to a special legislative task force to study and make recommendations with respect to preventing sexual harassment in the legislative environment.

WHEREAS, sexual language, suggestions, innuendo, and advances are inappropriate and, in many instances, unlawful in a work environment; and

WHEREAS, sexual harassment imposes psychological, physical, and other costs on victims, including deprivation of career advancement and opportunities; and

WHEREAS, sexual harassment also imposes costs in the workplace including decreased productivity, increased job turnover, reputational harm, and costly litigation; and

WHEREAS, because of these costs, it is often difficult for aggrieved persons to report instances of sexual harassment; and

WHEREAS, tracking and reporting instances of sexual harassment is perhaps more difficult in the legislative environment because of the wide variety of participants interacting in the process; and

WHEREAS, the Legislature of Louisiana aspires to be a model legislative environment and engender an atmosphere of mutual respect and trust among all of the participants in the process which include members of the public who regularly visit the state capitol to observe and participate in the legislative process, professional lobbyists, elected officials, and other public servants; and

WHEREAS, the Legislature of Louisiana understands that the best way to end sexual harassment in the legislative environment is to collaborate with all of the participants in the process to study the current policies regarding prevention of sexual harassment, to make recommendations regarding new policies or improvements to existing policies, and to continually work to create a culture in which sexual harassment is not tolerated.

SCR NO. 38 ENROLLED

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby create a special legislative task force to study the prevention of sexual harassment in the legislative environment in Louisiana.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the Special Legislative Task Force on the Prevention of Sexual Harassment shall be composed of the following:

- (1) The president of the Senate, or his designee.
- (2) The speaker of the House of Representatives, or his designee.
- (3) The president pro tempore of the Senate, or his designee.
- (4) The speaker pro tempore of the House of Representatives, or his designee.
- (5) The chairman of the Senate Finance Committee, or his designee.
- (6) The chairman of the House Appropriations Committee, or his designee.
- (7) The chairman of the Senate and Governmental Affairs Committee, or his designee.
- (8) The chairman of the House and Governmental Affairs Committee, or his designee.
- (9) One member of the Senate and Governmental Affairs Committee appointed by the chairman thereof.
- (10) One member of the House and Governmental Affairs Committee appointed by the chairman thereof.
- (11) Two members of the Women's Caucus selected by the members of the caucus in the Senate.
- (12) Two members of the Women's Caucus selected by the members of the caucus in the House of Representatives.
  - (13) The secretary of the Senate.
  - (14) The clerk of the House of Representatives.
- (15) Three members of the Association of Louisiana Lobbyists, including at least two female lobbyists, selected by the president of the association's board of directors.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the first meeting of the task force shall be called by the president of the Senate within fifteen days after the adoption of this Resolution and at such meeting, the task force shall select a chairman and any other officers the members SCR NO. 38 ENROLLED

thereof deem appropriate.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the president of the Senate and the speaker of the House of Representatives shall assign appropriate staff to support the work of the task force.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the task force shall report its findings and recommendations to the legislature no later than February 15, 2019.

PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE

SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES