RÉSUMÉ DIGEST

Morrell

ACT 472 (SB 509) 2018 Regular Session

<u>Prior law</u> provided for the University Neighborhood Security and Improvement District to be governed by a nine member board of commissioners composed of the following:

- (1) The president of the University Neighborhood Association, Inc., referred to in <u>new</u> law as the "association".
- (2) The board of directors of the association shall appoint three members, none of whom shall be the president of the University Neighborhood Association, Inc.
- (3) The member of the Louisiana House of Representatives whose district encompasses all or the greater portion of the area of the district shall appoint one member from a list of nominations submitted by the association.
- (4) The member of the Louisiana Senate whose district encompasses all or the greater portion of the area of the district shall appoint one member from a list of nominations submitted by the association.
- (5) The assessor of Orleans Parish shall appoint one member from a list of nominations submitted by the University Neighborhood Association, Inc.
- (6) The mayor of the city of New Orleans shall appoint one member from a list of nominations submitted by the association.
- (7) The member of the governing authority of the city of New Orleans whose council district encompasses all or the greater portion of the area of the district shall appoint one member from a list of nominations submitted by the association.

<u>New law</u> retains <u>prior law</u> but removes the assessor of Orleans Parish from appointing one member to the board of commissioners of the University Neighborhood Security and Improvement District.

New law provides for the district to be governed by a eight member board of commissioners.

Effective upon signature of the governor (May 23, 2018).

(Amends R.S. 33:9091.24(D)(1))