## SLS 19RS-7

# **ORIGINAL**

2019 Regular Session

# SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 20

## BY SENATOR PEACOCK

COMMENDATIONS. Commends Kathryn Ferguson on being named the 2019 Louisiana Middle School Teacher of the year.

1	A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION
2	To commend and congratulate Kathryn M. Ferguson of Shreveport upon receipt of the 2019
3	of Louisiana Middle School Teacher of the Year award from the Louisiana State
4	Department of Education and to recognize her many contributions to education and
5	the teaching profession.
6	WHEREAS, Kathryn Ferguson teaches sixth grade World History at Youree Drive
7	Middle Advanced Placement Magnet School and serves as chairman of its Social Studies
8	Department; and
9	WHEREAS, Mrs. Ferguson is an exceptional faculty member who has devoted
10	nearly two decades to the development of a positive classroom environment with meaningful
11	learning objectives for student growth and proficiency; and
12	WHEREAS, Mrs. Ferguson considers her primary responsibility as an educator is
13	to demonstrate leadership, motivation, and innovation in the classroom; she expresses that
14	obligation with inspiration and encouragement that challenges her students to develop a
15	lifelong interest in learning and to acquire those analytical skills necessary to become
16	effective decision makers; and
17	WHEREAS, she has been honored with numerous awards and recognitions that
18	include Caddo Parish Middle School Teacher of the Year, Educator of Distinction award

**SLS 19RS-7** 

#### ORIGINAL SCR NO. 20

- from the Louisiana Parent Teacher Association (PTA), and the Academic Achievement in
   the College of Education for Secondary Education award from her alma mater, Louisiana
   State University Shreveport; and
- WHEREAS, at Youree Drive Middle AP Magnet School, Mrs. Ferguson has been
  honored with special acknowledgment as Teacher of the Month in February 2016, Teacher
  of the Year in 2010, and named "Super Spartan Teacher" in January 2014; and

WHEREAS, Mrs. Ferguson is actively involved in the scholastic and extracurricular
environments at Youree Drive Middle AP Magnet School, serving as Discovery Education
innovator, Schoolwide Positive Behavioral Interventions and Supports Committee
(SWPBIS) team leader, "New Teacher" mentor, School Improvement Plan Committee
member, Olympic Festival co-chair, Club Day Activities coordinator, and Pep Squad faculty
advisor; and

- WHEREAS, she holds a bachelor of arts degree in secondary education from
   Louisiana State University Shreveport having graduated Magna Cum Laude and a Master
   of Education degree in school administration from Centenary College of Louisiana; and
- WHEREAS, the annual competition, hosted by the Louisiana State Department of
   Education and the Dream Teachers nonprofit organization, recognizes several categories of
   outstanding individual achievement in classroom instruction and exemplifies the highest
   honor bestowed on educators by the department; and
- WHEREAS, on July 27, 2018, Kathryn Ferguson and other state-level honorees were
   celebrated at the Twelfth Annual Cecil J. Picard Educator Excellence Awards Gala; and

WHEREAS, upholding the highest standards of the teaching profession, Kathryn Ferguson is most worthy of this prestigious award; she embodies excellence in instruction for her chosen curriculum and an enduring devotion to the academic needs of her students; and

- WHEREAS, Kathryn Ferguson has proved to be an educator with many talents
  whose dedication to education has been a priceless gift to the state of Louisiana.
- THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby
   commend and congratulate Kathryn Ferguson upon receipt of the 2019 Middle School
   Teacher of the Year award from the Louisiana State Department of Education and does

### SLS 19RS-7

2

- 1 hereby recognize her many contributions to furthering social studies education.
  - BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to
- 3 Kathryn Ferguson and Principal Jenifer Guerrero of Youree Drive Middle Advanced
- 4 Placement Magnet School.

The original instrument and the following digest, which constitutes no part of the legislative instrument, were prepared by Suzi Montague.

DIGEST

	DIGLOI
SCR 20 Original	2019 Regular Session

Peacock

Commends Kathryn Ferguson upon receipt of the 2019 of Louisiana Middle School Teacher of the Year award from the LA State Department of Education.