2019 Regular Session

SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 20

BY SENATOR PEACOCK

A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

To commend and congratulate Kathryn M. Ferguson of Shreveport upon receipt of the 2019 Louisiana Middle School Teacher of the Year award from the Louisiana State Department of Education and to recognize her many contributions to education and the teaching profession.

WHEREAS, Kathryn Ferguson teaches sixth grade World History at Youree Drive Middle Advanced Placement Magnet School and serves as chairman of its Social Studies Department; and

WHEREAS, Mrs. Ferguson is an exceptional faculty member who has devoted nearly two decades to the development of a positive classroom environment with meaningful learning objectives for student growth and proficiency; and

WHEREAS, Mrs. Ferguson considers her primary responsibility as an educator is to demonstrate leadership, motivation, and innovation in the classroom; she expresses that obligation with inspiration and encouragement that challenges her students to develop a lifelong interest in learning and to acquire those analytical skills necessary to become effective decision makers; and

WHEREAS, she has been honored with numerous awards and recognitions that include Caddo Parish Middle School Teacher of the Year, Educator of Distinction award from the Louisiana Parent Teacher Association (PTA), and the Academic Achievement in

SCR NO. 20

the College of Education for Secondary Education award from her alma mater, Louisiana State University Shreveport; and

WHEREAS, at Youree Drive Middle AP Magnet School, Mrs. Ferguson has been honored with special acknowledgment as Teacher of the Month in February 2016, Teacher of the Year in 2010, and named "Super Spartan Teacher" in January 2014; and

WHEREAS, Mrs. Ferguson is actively involved in the scholastic and extracurricular environments at Youree Drive Middle AP Magnet School, serving as Discovery Education innovator, Schoolwide Positive Behavioral Interventions and Supports Committee (SWPBIS) team leader, "New Teacher" mentor, School Improvement Plan Committee member, Olympic Festival co-chair, Club Day Activities coordinator, and Pep Squad faculty advisor; and

WHEREAS, she holds a bachelor of arts degree in secondary education from Louisiana State University Shreveport having graduated Magna Cum Laude and a Master of Education degree in school administration from Centenary College of Louisiana; and

WHEREAS, the annual competition, hosted by the Louisiana State Department of Education and the Dream Teachers nonprofit organization, recognizes several categories of outstanding individual achievement in classroom instruction and exemplifies the highest honor bestowed on educators by the department; and

WHEREAS, on July 27, 2018, Kathryn Ferguson and other state-level honorees were celebrated at the Twelfth Annual Cecil J. Picard Educator Excellence Awards Gala; and

WHEREAS, upholding the highest standards of the teaching profession, Kathryn Ferguson is most worthy of this prestigious award; she embodies excellence in instruction for her chosen curriculum and an enduring devotion to the academic needs of her students; and

WHEREAS, Kathryn Ferguson has proved to be an educator with many talents whose dedication to education has been a priceless gift to the state of Louisiana.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend and congratulate Kathryn Ferguson upon receipt of the 2019 Middle School Teacher of the Year award from the Louisiana State Department of Education and does hereby recognize her many contributions to furthering social studies education.

SCR NO. 20

ENROLLED

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to Kathryn Ferguson and Principal Jenifer Guerrero of Youree Drive Middle Advanced Placement Magnet School.

PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE

SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES