BY SENATOR THOMPSON

A RESOLUTION

To commend Rayville High School boys basketball team upon winning the 2019 Louisiana High School Athletic Association Class 2A championship.

WHEREAS, for two years in a row, the Rayville High School Hornets boys basketball team, under the leadership of Coach Derrick Jones, has set the standard for teamwork and skill on the court; and

WHEREAS, on March 8, 2019, the team defeated the Port Allen Pelicans 61 - 48 at the Allstate Sugar Bowl/Louisiana High School Athletic Association boys basketball tournament; and

WHEREAS, this win earned the team the Class 2A championship for two years in a row; and

WHEREAS, the Hornets averaged 106.6 points per game through the playoffs, resulting in three of the team members being named to the Louisiana Sports Writers Association's Class 2A All-State team; and

WHEREAS, the Rayville High School Hornets boys basketball team has made its community and the people of Louisiana proud of its skill, teamwork, and dedication on and off the court.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Senate of the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend and congratulate the Rayville High School boys basketball team on winning the 2019 Class 2A championship and does wish them many more victories and successes in all their future endeavors.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to Coach Derrick Jones.