2019 Regular Session

HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 77

BY REPRESENTATIVE SEABAUGH

COMMENDATIONS: Commends the 2019 Prudential Spirit of Community Award winners

1	A RESOLUTION
2	To commend the 2019 Prudential Spirit of Community Award winners.
3	WHEREAS, presented by Prudential Financial, Incorporated, in partnership with the
4	National Association of Secondary School principals, the Prudential Spirit of Community
5	Award Winners acknowledge middle and high school students across America who have
6	demonstrated exemplary volunteerism and an extraordinary commitment to their
7	communities; the criteria for the award are volunteer service, personal initiative, effort,
8	impact, and personal growth; and
9	WHEREAS, in their twenty-fourth year, the awards recognize students in grades five
10	through twelve; one middle school and one high school student from each state, plus a select
11	number of distinguished finalists, were chosen for the 2019 Prudential Spirit of Community
12	Awards; and
13	WHEREAS, named one of Louisiana's top volunteers, thirteen-year-old Nikki Leali
14	of New Orleans attends Ursuline Academy and has been volunteering since she was six
15	years old; she has always loved books and her service focuses on literacy and reading; Nikki
16	established a reading partner program whereby middle school students who excel at reading
17	pair with younger students to work on reading comprehension; Nikki was a 2018 Prudential
18	Spirit of Community Award distinguished finalist and this year she is a state honoree; and
19	WHEREAS, Kate Walker, a fifteen-year-old Ruston sophomore at Cedar Creek
20	School, is a 2019 state honoree; she was diagnosed with Friedreich's Ataxia (FA), an
21	incredibly rare neuro-muscular disease that affects only fifteen thousand people globally; she

HLS 19RS-1141

created an FA advocacy group called "Make It Happen" and made profiles on Facebook,
 Instagram, and YouTube and, with help from her family and friends, Kate has raised \$70,000
 for the Friedreich's Ataxia Research Alliance, an organization dedicated to the pursuit of
 scientific research leading to treatments and a cure for FA; and

5 WHEREAS, Hailey Enamorado, a fifteen-year-old sophomore at Denham Springs 6 High School, was named a 2019 distinguished finalist; she created "Hailey's Heroes", an 7 initiative that raised funds and provided volunteer support for veterans and active-duty 8 military members; she also brought awareness to causes such as pediatric cancer and 9 remediation after flooding in her hometown; and

WHEREAS, Julianna Gouthiere, twelve, of Shreveport, a sixth-grader at Youree Drive Middle School, was also named a distinguished finalist; she has collected and donated more than fifteen thousand stuffed animals for children in difficult situations through her nonprofit, "Bear Share"; inspired by the story of a fireman giving her mother a bear at the scene of an accident when she was a child, Julianna has worked with local businesses to deliver plush friends to hospitals, nonprofit organizations, police, and firefighters in the U.S. and internationally; and

WHEREAS, Myracle Lewis, seventeen, a senior at Baton Rouge Magnet High
School, volunteers with Women of Color and 100% Virtuous Women, helping the homeless
population in the greater Baton Rouge area; she helps organize food, clothing, and other
basic necessities donated by local businesses and residents and shares the donations with
individuals in need; and

WHEREAS, Grace Sun is a seventeen-year-old junior at Caddo Parish Magnet High School and was named a distinguished finalist for founding "Spread the Success", rallying more than eighty peers to help tutor forty elementary and middle school students at an after-school program and to serve dinner and read books with children at a local homeless shelter; and

WHEREAS, the success of the state of Louisiana, the strength of our communities,
and the overall vitality of American society depend upon the dedication of individuals like
Hailey Enamorado, Juliana Gouthiere, Nikki Leali, Myracle Lewis, Grace Sun, and Kate
Walker who use their considerable talents and resources to serve others.

1 THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the House of Representatives of the 2 Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend and congratulate the students chosen as the 3 state honorees and distinguished finalists in Louisiana for the 2019 Prudential Spirit of 4 Community Awards; does hereby recognize their outstanding records of volunteer service, 5 peer leadership, and community spirit; and does hereby extend to them best wishes for 6 continued success and happiness in their future endeavors. 7 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to 8 Hailey Enamorado, Juliana Gouthiere, Nikki Leali, Myracle Lewis, Grace Sun, and Kate 9 Walker.

DIGEST

The digest printed below was prepared by House Legislative Services. It constitutes no part of the legislative instrument. The keyword, one-liner, abstract, and digest do not constitute part of the law or proof or indicia of legislative intent. [R.S. 1:13(B) and 24:177(E)]

HR 77 Original

2019 Regular Session

Seabaugh

Commends the La. student winners of the 2019 Prudential Spirit of Community Awards.