2019 Regular Session

HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 110

BY REPRESENTATIVE SCHEXNAYDER

## A RESOLUTION

To designate Thursday, May 9, 2019, as FFA Day at the state capitol and to commend the state officers of FFA.

WHEREAS, the National FFA Organization prepares and trains students for leadership and professions in the science, business, and technology of agriculture in public schools throughout our nation; and

WHEREAS, the mission of the FFA organization is to make a positive difference in the lives of young people by developing their potential for premier leadership, personal growth, and career success through agricultural education; and

WHEREAS, the motto of the FFA organization, "Learning to Do, Doing to Learn, Earning to Live, Living to Serve", gives members words to live by as they experience the opportunities of the organization; and

WHEREAS, the National FFA Organization consists of more than six hundred seventy thousand members in the United States, Puerto Rico, and the Virgin Islands; and

WHEREAS, FFA membership in Louisiana continues to be strong and includes nearly eleven thousand agricultural students in one hundred ninety-nine chapters throughout the state; and

WHEREAS, the members of the Louisiana House of Representatives recognize the importance of agriculture to the economy of this state, as well as the importance of the education and training students in the state receive through agricultural education programs that develop competent and assertive agricultural leadership.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the House of Representatives of the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby designate Thursday, May 9, 2019, as FFA Day at the state capitol.

HR NO. 110 ENROLLED

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the House of Representatives of the Legislature of Louisiana also recognizes and commends the 2018-2019 state FFA officers as follows: Brooklyn Hampton, president; Kerington Bass, vice president; Sara Toal, vice president; William Gaspard, vice president; Lane Degenhardt, vice president; Katie Mestayer, secretary; Madison Sittig, treasurer; Taylor Perrodin, reporter; Zachary Mayfield, sentinel; and Makayla Caswell, parliamentarian.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to the state president of the Louisiana Association of the National FFA Organization.

SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES