RÉSUMÉ DIGEST

ACT 375 (HB 127)

2019 Regular Session

Pierre

Existing law provides that the system of state highways must consist of 12 functional classifications divided into two categories: Urban and Rural. Urban classifications are described as: urban-principal arterial-interstate, urban-principal arterial-other freeways and expressways, urban-principal arterial-other, urban-minor arterial, urban-collector, and urban-local. New law specifies that the Rural classifications are described as: rural-principal arterial-interstate, rural-principal arterial-other, rural-minor arterial, rural-major collector, rural-minor collector, and rural-local.

<u>New law</u> increases the amount of classifications <u>from</u> 12 <u>to</u> 14 by adding urban-major collector to the Urban classification and rural-local to the Rural classification. <u>New law</u> further reclassifies urban-local to urban-minor collector, rural-principal arterial-other to rural-principal arterial-other freeways and expressways, rural-minor arterial to rural-principal arterial-other, rural-major collector to rural-minor arterial, rural-minor collector to rural-major collector, and rural-local to rural-minor collector.

Effective Aug. 1, 2019.

(Amends R.S. 48:191 and 228)