HLS 20RS-135 ORIGINAL

2020 Regular Session

HOUSE BILL NO. 834

1

BY REPRESENTATIVE DESHOTEL

PORTS/HARBORS/TERMINALS: Changes the composition of the Avoyelles Parish Port Commission

AN ACT

2 To amend and reenact R.S. 34:1801(A)(1), (2), and (3), relative to the composition of the 3 Avoyelles Parish Port Commission; to provide for the selection process and term of 4 commissioners; to provide a special effective date; and to provide for related matters. 5 Notice of intention to introduce this Act has been published as provided by Article III, Section 13 of the Constitution of 6 7 Louisiana. 8 Be it enacted by the Legislature of Louisiana: 9 Section 1. R.S. 34:1801(A)(1), (2), and (3) are hereby amended and reenacted to 10 read as follows: 11 §1801. Creation of Avoyelles Parish Port Commission 12 A.(1) There is hereby created a commission to be known as the Avoyelles 13 Parish Port Commission, which shall be composed of nine seven members, at least 14 three of whom shall be minorities, with one member domiciled in each police jury 15 district who shall serve without compensation and who shall be appointed, subject 16 to Senate confirmation, as follows: 17 (2)(a) Each member The members of the police jury of Avoyelles Parish 18 shall submit a list of three nominees from his respective district to select four 19 commissioners, the Town of Simmesport shall select one commissioner, the 20 representative representing House District Twenty-Eight shall select one

Page 1 of 3

CODING: Words in struck through type are deletions from existing law; words <u>underscored</u> are additions.

1	commissioner, and the senator senators representing Senate District Twenty-Eight,
2	and the senator representing Senate District Thirty-Two shall, collectively, select one
3	commissioner. Each nominee commissioner shall be domiciled in the police jury
4	district that the police jury member represents Avoyelles Parish.
5	(b) A majority of the legislators consisting of the representative representing
6	House District Twenty-Eight, the senator representing Senate District Twenty-Eight,
7	and the senator representing Senate District Thirty-Two shall appoint one nominee
8	from each list of nominees submitted to serve as commissioners.
9	(3)(a) The initial commissioners appointed following the effective date of
10	this Paragraph shall serve until January 12, 2020. Thereafter, any commissioner
11	commissioners appointed shall serve a term of four years staggered terms as
12	provided in Subparagraph B of this Paragraph. The term shall end on January 31st
13	of the termed year. The selection process shall commence February 1st and be
14	completed within thirty days.
15	(b)(i) The commissioners shall serve staggered terms as follow: two
16	members shall serve a term of two years; two members shall serve a term of three
17	years; and three members shall serve a term of four years. Every four years new
18	commissioners shall be appointed as provided in this Subparagraph.
19	(ii) The terms of the respective members shall be determined from a
20	selection by lot at the first meeting of the board.
21	(iii) For purposes of this Subparagraph, "selection by lot" shall mean a
22	random selection from the pool of chosen commissioners.
23	* * *
24	Section 2. The provisions of this Act shall become effective on January 1, 2024.

DIGEST

The digest printed below was prepared by House Legislative Services. It constitutes no part of the legislative instrument. The keyword, one-liner, abstract, and digest do not constitute part of the law or proof or indicia of legislative intent. [R.S. 1:13(B) and 24:177(E)]

HB 834 Original

2020 Regular Session

Deshotel

Abstract: Provides for the composition of the commissioners, selection process, and terms of Avoyelles Parish Port Commissioners.

<u>Present law</u> created a commission, known as the Avoyelles Parish Port Commission, to be composed of nine members.

<u>Proposed law</u> changes the number of commissioners <u>from</u> nine <u>to</u> seven commissioners.

<u>Present law</u> requires each member of the police jury of Avoyelles Parish to submit a list of three nominees from his respective district to the legislators representing House District 28, Senate District 28, and Senate District 32, and requires a majority of the legislators to appoint one nominee from each list of nominees to serve as commissioners.

<u>Proposed law</u> requires the police jury to select four commissioners, the Town of Simmesport to select one commissioner, the representative of House District 28 to select one commissioner, and the senators representing Senate District 28 and Senate District 32 to collectively select one commissioner.

Present law requires any commissioners appointed to serve a term of four years.

<u>Proposed law</u> requires the commissioners to be appointed every four years and serve staggered terms as follows:

- (1) Two members will serve a term of two years.
- (2) Two members will serve a term of three years.
- (3) Three members will serve a term of four years.

<u>Proposed law</u> requires the terms of the respective members to be determined by a random selection at the first meeting of the board. <u>Proposed law</u> requires the term end on Jan. 31st of the termed year, the selection process to commence one Feb. 1st, and the selection process to be completed within 30 days.

Proposed law requires the provisions of this Act become effective on Jan. 1, 2024.

(Amends R.S. 34:1801(A)(1), (2), and (3))