DIGEST

The digest printed below was prepared by House Legislative Services. It constitutes no part of the legislative instrument. The keyword, one-liner, abstract, and digest do not constitute part of the law or proof or indicia of legislative intent. [R.S. 1:13(B) and 24:177(E)]

HB 820 Engrossed

2020 Regular Session

Marino

Abstract: Provides for the suspension of prescriptive, peremptive, and abandonment periods by the supreme court in the event of a declaration of emergency by the governor.

Present law provides for various prescriptive, peremptive, or abandonment periods.

<u>Proposed law</u> provides that the Supreme Court of Louisiana may suspend the running of prescriptive, peremptive, and abandonment periods for a period up to 90 days if a state of emergency is declared by the governor.

<u>Proposed law</u> provides for continuing suspensions if the governor issues further executive orders after the 90 days have run.

<u>Proposed law</u> provides for the period of suspension to terminate upon the earlier of an order of the Supreme Court of Louisiana or termination of the declared state of disaster or emergency.

Effective upon signature of governor or lapse of time for gubernatorial action.

(Adds C.C. Art. 3472.1 and C.C.P. Art. 562)

Summary of Amendments Adopted by House

The Committee Amendments Proposed by <u>House Committee on Civil Law and Procedure</u> to the <u>original</u> bill:

- 1. Add technical changes for the declaration of states of emergency as covered by R.S. 29:721 through 772.
- 2. Provide for termination of the period of suspension.