CONFERENCE COMMITTEE REPORT

HB 591 2020 Regular Session Larvadain

June 1, 2020

To the Honorable Speaker and Members of the House of Representatives and the Honorable President and Members of the Senate.

Ladies and Gentlemen:

We, the conferees appointed to confer over the disagreement between the two houses concerning House Bill No. 591 by Representative Larvadain, recommend the following concerning the Reengrossed bill:

- 1. That the set of Senate Floor Amendments by Senator Barrow (#2292) be adopted.
- 2. That the following amendments be adopted:

AMENDMENT NO. 1

On page 2, line 15, change "one to "two"

AMENDMENT NO. 2

On page 2, line 15, after "be" delete "a person" and insert "persons"

Respectfully submitted,

Representative Ed Larvadain III	Senator Regina Ashford Barrow
Representative Lawrence A. "Larry" Bagley	Senator Edward J. "Ed" Price
Representative Gary M. Carter, Jr.	Senator Fred H. Mills, Jr.

CONFERENCE COMMITTEE REPORT DIGEST

HB 591 2020 Regular Session Larvadain

Keyword and oneliner of the instrument as it left the House

BOARDS/COMMISSIONS: Provides relative to the membership of the Louisiana Sickle Cell Commission

Report adopts Senate amendments to:

1. Increase the number of members to serve on the Louisiana Sickle Cell Commission.

Report amends the bill to:

1. Clarify that of the five members submitted from the list of nominees by the Louisiana Department of Health, two shall be persons diagnosed with sickle cell disease.

Digest of the bill as proposed by the Conference Committee

<u>Present law</u> provides that the La. Sickle Cell Commission established within the La. Dept. of Health shall be composed of 11 members who are appointed by the governor.

<u>Proposed law</u> increases the number of members of the La. Sickle Cell Commission <u>from</u> 11 to 17.

Present law provides the commission shall be composed of 11 members:

- (1) A representative from the Sickle Cell Center of Southern La., Tulane University School of Medicine.
- (2) A representative from Children's Hospital, New Orleans.
- (3) A representative from the Baton Rouge Sickle Cell Anemia Foundation, Inc.
- (4) A representative from the Northeast La. Sickle Cell Anemia Foundation, Inc.
- (5) A representative from the Northeast La. Sickle Cell Anemia Technical Resource Foundation, Inc.
- (6) A representative from the Sickle Cell Disease Association of America, Inc., Northwest Louisiana Chapter.
- (7) A representative from the Sickle Cell Anemia Research Foundation, Alexandria.
- (8) A representative from the Southwest La. Sickle Cell Anemia, Inc.

<u>Proposed law</u> deletes <u>present law</u> and provides that the La. Sickle Cell Commission shall be comprised of 13 members who will be appointed by the governor. Those members shall include:

- (1) One member from a list of nominees submitted by the Sickle Cell Center of Southern La.
- (2) One member form a list of nominees submitted by Children's Hospital, New Orleans.
- (3) One member from a list of nominees submitted by the La. Primary Care Association.

- (4) One member from a list of nominees submitted by the Sickle Cell Foundation of South La.
- (5) One member from a list of nominees submitted by the Northeast La. Sickle Cell Anemia Technical Resource Foundation, Inc.
- (6) One member from a list of nominees submitted by the Sickle Cell Disease Association of America, Inc., Northwest La. Chapter.
- (7) One member from a list of nominees submitted by the Sickle Cell Anemia Research Foundation, Alexandria.
- (8) One member from a list of nominees submitted by the Southwest La. Sickle Cell Anemia, Inc.
- (9) Five members from a list of nominees submitted by the La. Dept. of Health; two of whom shall be persons diagnosed with sickle cell anemia, one of whom shall be a parent of a person diagnosed with sickle cell anemia, and two of whom shall be a medical professional who provides treatment and care to patients diagnosed with sickle cell anemia.

<u>Present law</u> provides that the secretary of the La. Dept. of Health or his designee shall be members of the commission.

<u>Proposed law</u> retains <u>present law</u> and adds that two members from the La. Dept. of Health shall serve on the commission. Further provides that those two members shall be the secretary of the La. Dept of Health or his designee and the Medicaid director of the La. Dept. of Health or his designee.

<u>Present law</u> provides that the commission shall hold at least four regular meetings each year at the La. Dept. of Health headquarters in Baton Rouge, La.

<u>Proposed law</u> revises <u>present law</u> and adds the commission shall hold at least four regular meetings each year and the meeting locations shall rotate throughout the state, to be determined by the chairman of the commission, to provide ease of travel for the members of the commission.

Effective upon signature of governor or lapse of time for gubernatorial action.

(Amends R.S. 40:2018.3(A) and (B), (1), (2), and (9))