2020 First Extraordinary Session

HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 5

BY REPRESENTATIVES SCHEXNAYDER, ADAMS, AMEDEE, BACALA, BAGLEY, BEAULLIEU, BISHOP, BOURRIAQUE, BRASS, BROWN, BRYANT, BUTLER, CARPENTER, CARRIER, GARY CARTER, ROBBY CARTER, WILFORD CARTER, CORMIER, COUSSAN, COX, CREWS, DAVIS, DEVILLIER, DESHOTEL, DUBUISSON, DUPLESSIS, DWIGHT, ECHOLS, EDMONDS, EDMONSTON, EMERSON, FARNUM, FIRMENT, FONTENOT, FREEMAN, FREIBERG, FRIEMAN, GADBERRY, GAINES, GAROFALO, GLOVER, GOUDEAU, GREEN, HARRIS, HENRY, HILFERTY, HODGES, HOLLIS, HORTON, HUGHES, HUVAL, ILLG, IVEY, JAMES, JEFFERSON, JENKINS, MIKE JOHNSON, TRAVIS JOHNSON, JONES, JORDAN, KERNER, LACOMBE, LANDRY, LARVADAIN, LYONS, MACK, MAGEE, MARCELLE, MARINO, MCCORMICK, MCFARLAND, MCKNIGHT, MCMAHEN, MIGUEZ, DUSTIN MILLER, GREGORY MILLER, MINCEY, MOORE, MUSCARELLO, NELSON, NEWELL, CHARLES OWEN, ROBERT OWEN, PHELPS, PIERRE, PRESSLY, RISER, ROMERO, SCHAMERHORN, SEABAUGH, SELDERS, ST. BLANC, STAGNI, STEFANSKI, TARVER, THOMAS, THOMPSON, TURNER, VILLIO, WHEAT, WHITE, WILLARD, WRIGHT, AND ZERINGUE

A RESOLUTION

To commend Mechelle Evans, Louisiana Rural Caucus administrative director, on receipt of the 2020 Legislative Staff Achievement Award from the Leadership Staff Professional Association of the National Conference of State Legislatures.

WHEREAS, Mechelle has served with the Leadership Staff Section/Leadership Staff Professional Association (LSS/LSPA) for over thirty years; during her time in service of the Louisiana Legislature, she has participated in countless subcommittee and planning positions and was also named chair of LSS/LSPA in 1999-2000; and

WHEREAS, Mechelle remains a continuous presence in the activities of LSS/LSPA, and she has returned to lead the association when roles are left unfilled; she has served as immediate past chair for the last three years, providing a replacement for any chair who is unable to complete his or her term, and she also helps recruit and mentor new members; and

WHEREAS, Mechelle received the LSS Legislative Staff Achievement Award in 2011, so her expertise and involvement in the LSPA Professional Development Seminars is valued among her peers; and

HR NO. 5 ENROLLED

WHEREAS, this year, Mechelle is the recipient of the LSPA Legislative Staff

Achievement Award; this award recognizes those who demonstrate excellence in supporting

the work of a state legislature and strengthening the legislative institution; and who exhibit

a high degree of professionalism, competence, and integrity in serving the legislature and

the public; and

WHEREAS, Mechelle Evans is a highly respected and valued member of the

Louisiana legislative staff; she is most deserving of recognition for her many years of service

to the Louisiana legislators and for her contributions to the legislative institution as a whole.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the House of Representatives of the

Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend Mechelle Evans, Louisiana Rural Caucus

administrative director, on receipt of the 2020 Legislative Staff Achievement Award from

the Leadership Staff Professional Association of the National Conference of State

Legislatures; does hereby express heartfelt gratitude for her commitment to the betterment

of the Louisiana Legislature; and does hereby extend sincere hopes and best wishes for her

continued service for many years to come.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to

Mechelle Evans.

SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES

Page 2 of 2