RÉSUMÉ DIGEST

ACT 280 (HB 591)

2020 Regular Session

Larvadain

<u>Existing law</u> provides that the La. Sickle Cell Commission established within the La. Dept. of Health (LDH) shall be composed of 11 members who are appointed by the governor.

New law retains existing law and increases the number of members of the La. Sickle Cell Commission from 11 to 13.

<u>Prior law</u> provided that the commission should be composed of 11 members including the following:

- (1) A representative from the Sickle Cell Center of Southern La., Tulane University School of Medicine.
- (2) A representative from Children's Hospital, New Orleans.
- (3) A representative from the Baton Rouge Sickle Cell Anemia Foundation, Inc.
- (4) A representative from the Northeast La. Sickle Cell Anemia Foundation, Inc.
- (5) A representative from the Northeast La. Sickle Cell Anemia Technical Resource Foundation, Inc.
- (6) A representative from the Sickle Cell Disease Association of America, Inc., Northwest Louisiana Chapter.
- (7) A representative from the Sickle Cell Anemia Research Foundation, Alexandria.
- (8) A representative from the Southwest La. Sickle Cell Anemia, Inc.

<u>New law</u> deletes <u>prior law</u> and provides that the La. Sickle Cell Commission shall be comprised of 13 members who will be appointed by the governor. Those members shall include:

- (1) One member from a list of nominees submitted by the Sickle Cell Center of Southern La.
- (2) One member form a list of nominees submitted by Children's Hospital, New Orleans.
- (3) One member from a list of nominees submitted by the La. Primary Care Association.
- (4) One member from a list of nominees submitted by the Sickle Cell Foundation of South La.
- One member from a list of nominees submitted by the Northeast La. Sickle Cell Anemia Technical Resource Foundation, Inc.
- (6) One member from a list of nominees submitted by the Sickle Cell Disease Association of America, Inc., Northwest La. Chapter.
- (7) One member from a list of nominees submitted by the Sickle Cell Anemia Research Foundation, Alexandria.
- (8) One member from a list of nominees submitted by the Southwest La. Sickle Cell Anemia, Inc.
- (9) Five members from a list of nominees submitted by the La. Dept. of Health; two of whom shall persons diagnosed with sickle cell anemia, one of whom shall be a parent of a person diagnosed with sickle cell anemia, and two of whom shall be a medical professional who provides treatment and care to patients diagnosed with sickle cell anemia.

 $\underline{\text{Existing law}}$ provides that the secretary of LDH or his designee shall be members of the commission.

<u>New law</u> retains <u>existing law</u> and adds that two members from LDH shall serve on the commission. Further provides that those two members shall be the secretary of LDH or his designee and the Medicaid director of LDH or his designee.

<u>Existing law</u> provides that the commission shall hold at least four regular meetings each year at LDH headquarters in Baton Rouge, La.

<u>New law</u> revises <u>existing law</u> and adds the commission shall hold at least four regular meetings each year and the meeting locations shall rotate throughout the state, to be determined by the chairman of the commission, to provide ease of travel for the members of the commission.

Effective upon signature of governor (June 11, 2020).

(Amends R.S. 40:2018.3(A) and (B) (1), (2), and (9))