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Provides relative to penalties for possession of marijuana

Proposed law reduces the criminal penalties for the conviction of the possession of marijuana when the offender possesses
14 grams or less. Present law provides the criminal penalty of a fine up to $300 and imprisonment for not more than 15
days, or both. Proposed law reduces the penalty to a fine of $50 and imposes no jail time. Proposed law provides that if an
offender alleges indigency, the court shall use its discretion to find alternatives to full payment, including installment
payments or community service. Proposed law provides for enforcement by use of summons in lieu of custodial arrest.

EXPENDITURES 2021-22 2022-23 2023-24 2024-25 2025-26 5 -YEAR TOTAL
State Gen. Fd. $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
Agy. Self-Gen. $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
Ded./Other $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
Federal Funds $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
Local Funds DECREASE DECREASE DECREASE DECREASE DECREASE

Annual Total

REVENUES 2021-22 2022-23 2023-24 2024-25 2025-26 5 -YEAR TOTAL
State Gen. Fd. $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
Agy. Self-Gen. $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
Ded./Other $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
Federal Funds $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
Local Funds DECREASE DECREASE DECREASE DECREASE DECREASE

l/Annual Total
EXPENDITURE EXPLANATION

There is no direct material effect on the Department of Public Safety & Corrections - Corrections Services (DPS&CQC)
expenditures as a result of the proposed measure. The possession of marijuana, 14 grams or less, is a misdemeanor;
therefore, these offenders are not in the custody of DPS&C. Local law enforcement agencies will realize an indeterminable
decrease in expenditures associated with the removal of jail time as a penalty for the possession of marijuana, 14 grams or
less.

REVENUE EXPLANATION

There will be an indeterminable decrease in self-generated revenue to the District Attorney’s, the Louisiana Public Defender
Board, Clerk of Courts, Sheriff’'s Departments, and other local governmental entities as a result of the reduction of the fine
for the conviction of the possession of marijuana, 14 grams or less, from $300 to $50.

For illustrative purposes, the Louisiana Commission on Law Enforcement (LCLE) reports there were 18,943 arrests for the
possession of marijuana under R.S. 40:966 in 2019. LCLE was unable to distinguish those arrests where the amount in
possession was 14 grams or less.
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