SLS 21RS-2341 ORIGINAL

2021 Regular Session

1

SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 171

BY SENATOR MILLIGAN

COMMENDATIONS. Commends the Teacher of the Year from schools located in Senate District 38 on "Teacher of the Year Day" in the Louisiana Senate.

A RESOLUTION

2	To commend the Teacher of the Year from schools in Senate District 38 for exemplary and
3	dedicated service on "Teacher of the Year Day" in the Louisiana Senate.
4	WHEREAS, excellence in teaching is the result of commitment, dedication,
5	inspiration, patience, creativity, hard work, and the highest order of professional integrity;
6	and
7	WHEREAS, research clearly demonstrates that teachers are paramount to student
8	achievement and it has been estimated that a teacher has two to three times the impact of any
9	other school factor; and
10	WHEREAS, Teacher of the Year programs were created as a means to publicly
11	honor and recognize the critical role of instructional excellence in ensuring student success
12	in school and in life; and
13	WHEREAS, the outstanding educators named Teacher of the Year for schools
14	located in Senate District 38 are as follows:
15	Shyla Johnson, Turner Elementary Middle School
16	Elizabeth Delafield, Logansport High School
17	Leah Darden, North DeSoto Upper Elementary School
18	Ashley Asbell, Stanley High School; and

SLS 21RS-2341 ORIGINAL SR NO. 171

1	WHEREAS, these exemplary educators are held in the highest regard by their
2	students, their colleagues, and their communities.
3	THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Senate of the Legislature of Louisiana
4	does hereby sincerely commend the Teacher of the Year from schools in Senate District 38
5	for exemplary and dedicated service on "Teacher of the Year Day" in the Louisiana Senate.
6	BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to each
7	Teacher of the Year recognized herein.
	The original instrument and the following digest, which constitutes no part of the legislative instrument, were prepared by Jerry J. Guillot.

DIGEST 2021 Regular Session

Milligan

Commends the Teacher of the Year from schools in Senate District 38 for exemplary and dedicated service on "Teacher of the Year Day" in the Louisiana Senate.

SR 171 Original