2021 Regular Session

HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 154

BY REPRESENTATIVE TURNER

A RESOLUTION

To commend the Choudrant High School baseball team on winning the Louisiana High School Athletic Association 2021 Class B state championship.

WHEREAS, the top-seeded Choudrant High School Aggies defeated third-seeded Elizabeth High School, 6-1, to capture the 2021 Class B state title; and

WHEREAS, the Aggies found their bats down the stretch for a five-run sixth inning, breaking up a five-inning pitcher's duel; and

WHEREAS, Braden Jones was named the game's Most Outstanding Player after pitching seven complete innings and surrendering only one unearned run; and

WHEREAS, the Aggies accounted for six runs on nine total hits; and

WHEREAS, the Aggies are led by Coach Tony Antley; and this year's title is his fifth state championship as head coach of the Choudrant High School baseball team; he led the Aggies to state titles in 1996, 2002, 2005, and 2017; and

WHEREAS, the members and coaches of the Choudrant High School baseball team are most deserving of recognition for their hard work and determination throughout their 2021 championship run with a record of 32-3, which concluded in a record-breaking 29-game winning streak: Stone Weaver, Jackson Case, Austin Swift, Landon Hennen, Bryce McGuire, Gavin Murphy, Kaden Bradshaw, Zane Bayless, Owen Watson, Eli Callender, Jackson Pyle, Michael Jones, and TJ Smith, and seniors Brandon Carter, Braden Jones, Luke Tassin, and Eli Watson, Head Coach Tony Antley, and assistant coaches Joel Antley, Chris Cavin, and Steve Wooley.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the House of Representatives of the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby commend the Choudrant High School baseball team on winning the Louisiana High School Athletic Association 2021 Class B state championship and does hereby extend sincere wishes that the members of the team enjoy future success both on and off the field.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to the principal of Choudrant High School.

SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES