SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 22

BY SENATORS CATHEY, ABRAHAM, ALLAIN, BARROW, BERNARD, BOUDREAUX, CARTER, CLOUD, CONNICK, CORTEZ, FIELDS, FOIL, HARRIS, HENRY, HENSGENS, HEWITT, JACKSON, JOHNS, LAMBERT, LUNEAU, MCMATH, MILLIGAN, FRED MILLS, ROBERT MILLS, MIZELL, MORRIS, PEACOCK, POPE, PRICE, REESE, SMITH, TALBOT, TARVER, WARD, WHITE AND WOMACK

A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION

To urge and request the LSU Board of Supervisors to solely name the basketball court at the Pete Maravich Assembly Center after legendary men's head basketball coach, Dale Brown.

WHEREAS, Louisiana State University (LSU) has fielded collegiate basketball teams for one hundred thirteen seasons; and

WHEREAS, twenty-three men have lead the Tigers on the court in that time as men's head basketball coach, with only seven of these men leading the team to the NCAA Tournament, also known as March Madness; and

WHEREAS, in 1972, Coach Dale Brown arrived in Baton Rouge, taking over a perennially losing basketball team that had only achieved four winning seasons in the previous eighteen years; and

WHEREAS, Coach Brown became one of those seven coaches, leading thirteen teams to the NCAA Tournament, nine more than the closest LSU men's head basketball coach; and

WHEREAS, one hundred fifteen of one hundred sixty of Coach Brown's players received their college degrees; and

WHEREAS, Coach Brown is the only SEC coach to have ever appeared in fifteen straight national tournaments (NCAA and NIT); and

WHEREAS, only eleven coaches in NCAA history have made more consecutive NCAA appearances than Coach Brown's ten; and

SCR NO. 22

ENROLLED

WHEREAS, only the legendary Adolph Rupp of Kentucky won more games in SEC history; additionally, Brown and Rupp are the only SEC coaches to have seventeen consecutive non-losing seasons; and

WHEREAS, only four coaches in the SEC have won more conference championships than Dale Brown: Adolph Rupp, Joe Hall, Tubby Smith, and Billy Donovan; and

WHEREAS, Coach Dale Brown was selected as the SEC Coach of the Year or Runner-Up nine times; and

WHEREAS, he was twice chosen as the National Coach of the Year; and

WHEREAS, he is a member of the Louisiana Sports Hall of Fame, the North Dakota Sports Hall of Fame, the Minot State University Hall of Fame, the Louisiana Basketball Coaches Hall of Fame, the LSU Sports Hall of Fame, and the National Collegiate Basketball Hall of Fame; and

WHEREAS, he was named a SEC Living Legend; and

WHEREAS, in 2010, *Tiger Rag*, the bible of LSU sports, ranked Coach Brown in the top five of the most influential people in the history of LSU athletics; and

WHEREAS, he was selected by *Bleacher Report* as one of the fifty greatest basketball coaches in college basketball history; and

WHEREAS, Coach Brown holds the following LSU basketball records:

Most overall wins: Four hundred forty-eight

Most SEC wins: Two hundred thirty-eight

Most wins in a season: Thirty-one

Most consecutive wins in a season: Twenty-six

Most consecutive SEC wins in a season: Seventeen

Most consecutive non-losing seasons: Seventeen

Most SEC regular season championships: Four

SEC tournament championship: 1980

Most NCAA tournament appearances: Thirteen (of LSU's twenty-two total)

Most consecutive national tournaments: Fifteen (of LSU's twenty-five total, SEC

record)

Most Final Four appearances: Two (of LSU's four total)

Most Elite Eight appearances: Four (of LSU's six total)

Highest finish in the polls: Second in 1980 and third in 1981; and

WHEREAS, Georgia Institute of Technology named their basketball court after Coach Bobby Cremins for leading their team to one Final Four; and

WHEREAS, University of Illinois named their basketball court after Coach Lou Henson for leading their team to one Final Four; and

WHEREAS, Purdue University named their basketball court after Coach Gene Keady who led their team to zero Final Fours; and

WHEREAS, St. John's University named their basketball arena and court after Coach Lou Carnesecca for leading their team to one Final Four; and

WHEREAS, Coach Brown has dedicated his post-basketball life to a career focused on teaching leadership and motivational skills to leaders of the future, not just in Louisiana, but around the world; and

WHEREAS, Coach Brown continues to support Louisiana State University with his time and efforts and makes his home in Baton Rouge, Louisiana, where his exemplary accomplishments would never have been achieved without the tireless support of his loving wife Vonnie.

THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Legislature of Louisiana does hereby urge and request the Louisiana State University Board of Supervisors to solely name the basketball court at the Pete Maravich Assembly Center after legendary men's basketball coach, Dale Brown.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that a copy of this Resolution be transmitted to Coach Dale Brown and the chair of the LSU Board of Supervisors.

PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE

SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES