RESUME DIGEST
ACT 118 (HB 601) 2021 Regular Session Goudeau

New law requires the Dept. of Public Safety and Corrections to issue a special prestige
license plate to be known as the "New Orleans Pelicans" license plate, provided there is a
minimum of 1,000 applicants for such plate.

New law requires the secretary to work in conjunction with the vice president of
governmental relations and business operations for the New Orleans Saints and New Orleans
Pelicans to select the color and design of the plate, provided the design is in compliance with

existing law.

New law requires that the license plate be issued, upon application, to any citizen of La. in
the same manner as any other motor vehicle license plate.

New law requires the department to collect an annual royalty fee of $25 in addition to the
standard motor vehicle license tax and a $3.50 handling fee for each plate to be retained by
the department to offset a portion of administrative costs.

New law requires monies received from the royalty fees to be forwarded to the Louisiana
Wildlife and Fisheries Conservation Fund and the Louisiana Early Childhood Education
Fund in equal disbursements.

New law requires the secretary to promulgate and adopt rules and regulations to implement
the provisions provided in new law.

Directs the office of motor vehicles to create the "New Orleans Pelicans" specialty license
plate when the applicable statutory provisions are met and its system is updated to
accommodate the creation of new plates.

Effective August 1, 2021.

(Adds R.S. 47:463.210)



