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Current law mandates the Department of Public Safety, Office of Motor Vehicles (OMV) to suspend the Louisiana driver’s license of an
individual with more than $1,000 in final and non-appealable delinquent personal income tax liabilities (exclusive of penalty, interest, costs
and other charges) when notified by the Department of Revenue (LDR). The suspension remains in place until the delinquency (including
penalty, interest and all costs) is resolved by payment or payment plan and the OMV is notified by LDR. The law provides for OMV to issue
an economic hardship license until the earlier of 1 year or a payment/payment plan is in place with LDR.

Proposed law retains current law and provides for OMV to reinstate driver’s licenses suspended for delinquent personal income tax without
requiring additional action of the taxpayer once payment or a payment plan is in place. Proposed law allows for LDR to provide for the
suspension of drivers licenses at higher thresholds of delinquent personal income tax liabilities based on an individual’'s historical
compliance with Louisiana tax law, as well as the facts and circumstances related to the current unpaid tax liability, and may accept surety
or collateral in lieu of suspension. Effective upon governor signature.

EXPENDITURES 2022-23 2023-24 2024-25 2025-26 2026-27 5 -YEAR TOTAL
State Gen. Fd. $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
Agy. Self-Gen. SEE BELOW SEE BELOW SEE BELOW SEE BELOW SEE BELOW

Ded./Other $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
Federal Funds $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
Local Funds $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
Annual Total

REVENUES 2022-23 2023-24 2024-25 2025-26 2026-27 5 -YEAR TOTAL
State Gen. Fd. $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
Agy. Self-Gen. SEE BELOW SEE BELOW SEE BELOW SEE BELOW SEE BELOW

Ded./Other SEE BELOW SEE BELOW SEE BELOW SEE BELOW SEE BELOW

Federal Funds $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
Local Funds $0 $0 $0 $0 $0 $0
Annual Total

EXPENDITURE EXPLANATION
To the extent that LDR exercises the option to apply a higher delinquency threshold before suspending driver’s licenses, OMV
expenditures would decrease as the cost to implement some suspensions and reinstatements would not be incurred.

REVENUE EXPLANATION

The bill states that LDR shall promptly notify OMV to reinstate driving privileges without additional action required of the
individual once payment or arrangement to pay has been made with LDR. It is not clear if the bill specifically waives the OMV
mandate to collect reinstatement fees for these reinstated licenses in R.S. 32:414(H) under current law. Of the $60
reinstatement fee, $10 is allocated to LDH for EMS services with 50% ($5) remaining with LDH, 45% ($4.50) for local EMS,
and 5% ($0.50) remaining with DPS for administrative costs. LDH budgets about $100,000 total from this fee for
reinstatement of all relevant suspended licenses, which includes tax delinquencies.

OMYV indicates that an average of 7,757 accounts were cleared with a reinstatement fee of $60 between FY17-19, which
presumes about $455,000 in fees collected.

To the extent that LDR chooses to apply a higher tax delinquency threshold before suspending driver’s licenses,
the fee collections for OMV, and subsequently state and local EMS and DPS, would be lower as some
suspensions and reinstatements will not take place.
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