The original instrument and the following digest, which constitutes no part of the legislative instrument, were prepared by James Benton.

## DIGEST 2023 Regular Session

Foil

<u>Present law</u> provides that when any communications district is created wholly within a single parish, the parish governing authority creating it may appoint a board of commissioners composed of seven members to govern its affairs and shall fix the domicile of the board at any point within the parish.

<u>Proposed law</u> makes an exception to <u>present law</u> and provides the East Baton Rouge Parish Communications District shall be composed of the following seven members:

- (1) The East Baton Rouge Parish sheriff or his designee.
- (2) The police chief for the city of Baton Rouge police department or his designee.
- (3) The fire chief for the city of Baton Rouge fire department or his designee.
- (4) The director of the East Baton Rouge Parish Emergency Medical Services or designee.
- (5) The mayor of the city of Baker or his designee.
- (6) The mayor of the city of Zachary or his designee.
- (7) The mayor of the city of Central or his designee.

Effective upon signature of the governor or lapse of time for gubernatorial action.

(Adds R.S. 33:9103(A)(1)(a)(6))

SB 57 Original