The original instrument and the following digest, which constitutes no part of the legislative instrument, were prepared by Cheryl Serrett.

DIGEST 2023 Regular Session

Boudreaux

<u>Present law</u> (R.S. 29:288) provides for spouses and children of certain veterans who were killed in action, died during active service, died as a result of a service-connected disability, who are missing in action, or who are prisoners of war to receive a tuition and fee waiver at public postsecondary institutions.

<u>Proposed law</u> allows the waiver to be granted to the spouses and children of deceased veterans who, prior to death, were rated ninety to one hundred percent disabled or determined to be unemployable as a result of a service-connected disability.

<u>Present law</u> limits the waiver to veterans who had resided in Louisiana for at least 12 months prior to entrance into the service.

<u>Proposed law</u> also allows the tuition and fee waiver to be granted to spouses or children of certain veterans who had been residents of Louisiana for at least 24 months prior to death.

<u>Present law</u> further allows children of certain living disabled veterans to receive a tuition and fee waiver.

Proposed law makes technical amendments relative to placement of provisions in present law.

<u>Present law</u> (R.S. 17:1686) provides for a tuition waiver for certain children of deceased veterans who died as a result of injuries sustained in the course of duty.

<u>Proposed law</u> prohibits postsecondary education institutions from providing tuition waivers to students under both provisions of law.

Effective upon signature of the governor or lapse of time for gubernatorial action.

(Amends R.S. 29:288; adds R.S. 17:1686(D))

SB 115 Original