The original instrument and the following digest, which constitutes no part of the
legislative instrument, were prepared by Yoursheka D. Butler.

DIGEST
SB 218 Original 2023 Regular Session Womack

Present law creates the State Plumbing Board of Louisiana (board) to consist of nine members as
follows:

(1) One registered engineer.

(2) One plumbing inspector.

3) Three master plumbers.

4) Three journeyman plumbers.
%) One tradesman plumber.

Proposed law retains present law, renames the "Louisiana State Board of Health" the "Louisiana
Department of Health", and requires its appointee to be licensed by the board.

Present law requires the board to adopt tests of qualifications for any person engaged in the duties
of a tradesman or master plumber.

Proposed law retains present law and removes the board's option to accept an affidavit from an
individual certifying his work experience in the field of plumbing.

Present law prohibits a natural person from engaging in the work of a journeyman plumber unless
he possesses a license or renewal thereof issued by the board. Present law also permits a journeyman
plumber to engage in the art of plumbing when he is under the supervision of a licensed master
plumber.

Proposed law retains present law and adds that a journeyman plumber that repaired plumbing
without the supervision of a master plumber prior to January 1, 2024, will have five years to become
a licensed master plumber.

Present law permits apprentices to engage in the art of plumbing but requires the apprentice to be
under the direct, constant on-the-job supervision of a licensed journeyman plumber.
Present law also defines "direct, constant on-the-job supervision".

Proposed law retains present law and adds that apprentices may also be supervised by a master
plumber.



Present law provides that in order to obtain a tradesman plumber limited license, a person must work
atleast 4,000 hours at the manual labor of plumbing under the direct, constant on-the-job supervision
of a licensed journeyman or master plumber.

Proposed law retains present law and further clarifies that the 4,000-hour requirement applies to non-
registered apprentices. Proposed law also adds that registered apprentices must complete at least
3,000 hours at the manual labor of plumbing under the direct, constant on-the-job supervision of a
licensed journeyman or master plumber to obtain a tradesman plumber limited license.

Proposed law defines "apprentice gas fitter" and "registered apprentices".

Present law provides that no master plumber license will be issued, renewed, or revived until the
applicant has provided proofacceptable to the board that insurance has been issued to the employing
entity by an insurer authorized to do business in this state.

Proposed law retains present law and makes present law applicable to master natural gas fitter
licenses.

Present law authorizes the board to require master plumbers and master natural gas fitters to provide
proof of comprehensive general liability and property damage insurance before issuing, renewing,
or reviving an applicant's license.

Proposed law retains present law and raises the minimum aggregate amount of comprehensive
general liability and property damage insurance from $100,000 to $500,000.

Effective August 1, 2023.

(Amends R.S. 37:1361(B)(1), 1366(C), 1367(A)(2), 1368(A)(1)(b), 1377(C), and 1380(A) and
(B)(3))



