## **RÉSUMÉ DIGEST**

## SCR 61 2023 Regular Session Hewitt

Re-establishes the Lower Pearl River Basin Task Force to study the conditions, needs, issues, and funding relative to the flood protection and preservation of the Lower Pearl River Basin and to recommend any action or legislation that the commission considers necessary or appropriate.

Task force to consist of the following nine members:

- (1) One member appointed by the president of the Senate, who shall serve as chairperson.
- (2) One member appointed by the speaker of the House of Representatives.
- (3) The secretary of DNR, or his designee.
- (4) The secretary of the DW&F, or his designee.
- (5) The secretary of the DEQ, or his designee.
- (6) The secretary of the DOTD, or his designee.
- (7) The executive director of CPRA, or his designee.
- (8) The parish president of Washington Parish, or his designee.
- (9) The parish president of St. Tammany Parish, or his designee.

Requires that the task force submit a report and recommendations with suggestions for proposed legislation to the Senate and House committees on transportation, highways and public works, the Senate Committee on Natural Resources, and the House Committee on Natural Resources and Environment by 7/1/25.

Provides that the task force terminates upon submission of its report of findings and recommendations.