The original instrument and the following digest, which constitutes no part of the legislative instrument, were prepared by Dawn Romero Watson.

DIGEST 2024 Regular Session

SB 50 Original

Reese

<u>Present law</u> restricts certain persons from placing a wager on a sports event based on age, location, affiliation with an individual participant or team in the sports event, and other factors. <u>Present law</u> also provides for a uniform compulsive and problem gambling program that allows an individual to request their placement on a list to be excluded from gaming activities at all gaming establishments. In addition, gaming licensees, operators and sports governing bodies typically have various restrictions on the placement of sports wagers by their employees, players and members.

<u>Proposed law</u> creates the crime of a prohibited player placing a wager on a sports event, personally or through another individual or proxy. Provides that it shall also be a crime for a person or entity to facilitate or place a sports wager on behalf of a prohibited player.

<u>Proposed law</u> defines "prohibited player" as a person who is prohibited from placing a wager on a sports event by any of the following:

- (1) The sports wagering chapter in the Louisiana Gaming Control Law or in the correlating Louisiana Administrative Code.
- (2) Participation in a self-restriction or self-exclusion program in accordance with the Louisiana Gaming Control Law or in the correlating Louisiana Administrative Code.
- (3) Any other law, administrative rule, or policy of any jurisdiction, the sports wagering operator, the sports book, or a sports governing body.

<u>Proposed law</u> provides a criminal penalty for a violation of <u>proposed law</u> of a fine not more than \$500, or imprisoned for not more than six months, or both. On a second and subsequent violation, the penalty shall be a fine of \$1,000, or imprisonment for not more than one year, or both.

<u>Proposed law</u> provides whoever conducts, finances, manages, supervises, directs, leases, or owns all or part of a business when such person knowingly allows a prohibited player to wager on a sports event shall be fined not more than \$20,000, or imprisoned, with or without hard labor, for not more than five years, or both.

<u>Proposed law</u> provides that a person, business, or entity licensed, or sports wagering operator permitted, pursuant to the sports wagering law shall not be subject to the penalty if the licensee or permittee has taken commercially reasonable methods to prevent a prohibited player from placing a wager on a sports event in person, on a sports wagering mechanism, or through a mobile application.

<u>Proposed law</u> provides that a sports wagering platform provider permitted by the Louisiana Lottery shall not be subject to the penalty if the permittee has taken commercially reasonable methods to prevent a prohibited player from placing a wager on a sports event on a sports wagering mechanism or through a mobile application.

Effective upon signature of the governor or lapse of time for gubernatorial action.

(Adds R.S. 14:90.8)