The original instrument and the following digest, which constitutes no part of the legislative instrument, were prepared by Mary Frances Aucoin.

## DIGEST

SB 314 Original

## 2024 Regular Session

Barrow

<u>Proposed law</u> provides that beginning with the Fall 2024 academic semester or session, as applicable, a qualified person as defined in <u>proposed law</u> who is eligible for admission and enrollment in a public postsecondary education institution in Louisiana shall be admitted and enrolled in such institution without the payment of any tuition or mandatory fee amount as long as such person meets the academic standards and complies with the rules and regulations of the institution required for enrollment and continued attendance as a full-time student. Provides that the exemption shall exist for the length of time required for a full-time student to obtain a baccalaureate or other undergraduate degree or completion certificate as offered by such institution, as applicable, or until the person's 46th birthday, whichever occurs first.

<u>Proposed law</u> defines a "qualified person" as a woman who is at least 26 years old and under the age of 46 who has been domiciled in Louisiana for a minimum of 5 years prior to applying for the exemption. Provides that "tuition and mandatory fee amounts" shall mean those tuition and fee amounts payable by the state on behalf of a student who receives a TOPS award. Requires verification of age and domiciliary status by voter registration records prior to such person initially receiving the exemption.

Effective upon signature of the governor or lapse of time for gubernatorial action.

(Adds R.S. 17:1689)